HD TV Debacle

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Njaco

The Pop-Tart Whisperer
Feb 19, 2007
Southern New Jersey
Ok, need some help with this.

I don't have cable. I refuse to contribute to a monopoly that keeps increasing rates and decreasing service. So I'm a rabbit-ear expert. :lol:

The other day I got a used TV for my daughter's room but I needed an antenna. Went to the local Target store to find one. When I couldn't, I asked an employee where they were. He showed me and proceeded to tell me that within a year they would obsolete and non-funtional.

Now I know Congress a year or two ago passed a law changing TV to HD but what I was told by that employee was that it would render the rabbit-ears ineffective and for anyone to get any TV channels they would have to subscribe to a cable channel or Satellite dish or FiOs type service - at extra cost.

Is this true? I know they were changing the TV types but wasn't aware that it involved taking away analog reception! How can they do this?

It is 100% true that HD is coming - like it or not. It is also true that stations will be forced to broadcast in HD. That does not mean that your local station will necessarily discontinue broadcasting in SD (Standard Definition). many stations will provide duel broadcasts...

Check with your local TV stations.. I'm sure the will have info on their web site.

ABC.com - HDTV FAQ's

Thanks Comiso. I was aware of the HD changes just not the ramifications. Well, my DVD player is gonna get a work out then.

That doesn't mean they're going to stop SD broadcasts.... you may be OK

Like I said:
That does not mean that your local station will necessarily discontinue broadcasting in SD (Standard Definition). many stations will provide duel broadcasts...

Check with your local TV stations.. I'm sure the will have info on their web site