Humbrol Acrylics - anyone else had problems?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

BombTaxi

Tech Sergeant
Nov 27, 2004
Barnsley, S. Yorks, UK
Hello chaps,

I've just taken a break from the Hurri and started on 1/72 Airfix Skyhawk that came in the Falklands gift set I bought last month. I started painting with the acrylics provided in the set, and noticed before I started that they had settled heavily. So, I shook and stirred thoroughly, only to find that the grey (64) came out thin and blotchy. (I am brush painting, BTW). The white (22) is even worse, it's come out the consistency of milk, and all I have on the plastic is a series of white streaks, rather than a coat of paint :rolleyes: Has anyone else had any trouble with these paints, or I have just got a duff batch?

Cheers

BT

i've used the humbrol 65 that i got with my dogfight double set and i thought it dried a bit to quickly,almost dry as it was painted on and my brush was almost set solid before i was finished my 1/72 bf110's lower surface

to be honest i'm switching to vallejo as i've a shop that stocks the full model colour range near where i work

Hmm, sounds like these paints are indeed crap. I shall persevere for this set, as there are fifteen colours, so about 25-30 quid to replace (and the gift set was only 16.50). I was planning on getting WEM Colourcoats for myVenom and any other FAA stuff, so I will prob do likewise for RAF stuff going forwards, provided the Venom turns out OK.

I haven't used these recent Humbrol paints but it is possible they can be of poor quality.Enamels seem to be as well.

The grey has come more or less right after a second coat, but this means I have lost some detail. I have over-painted the white with Revell 99 enamel, it doesn't look much better TBH, is there any special 'trick' to brush painting large white areas? :?: