Interesting way to get great finish

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

PurplePenguin

Airman
Jul 8, 2009
Manchester,England
I stumbled across this by accident, i was painting my latest venture (B-25 J) in 48 scale and after i'd finished painting i noticed that the paint job was blotchy in areas even though i'd taken care in painting it. After spending several hours trying to correct this by adding watered down layers of paint to various areas to try and even out the paint job i gave up, the paint job was still blotchy in areas and uneven. Then i noticed in areas of the plane blemishes where my fingers had come in contact with the plane not imprinting on the paint itself but leaving a shiny finish. I studied this for a while noticing that where my fingers had indeed come in contact with the plane the grease from my fingers had left a slightly shiny finish and more finished look. This got me thinking what if i could put a layer of 'grease' over the plane would this indeed counter the blotchy areas on the plane...then for a slight eureka moment, me being a 20 something male i have regrettabally various amount of hair products, one being a light wax, after applying a very small amount of light wax to the B-25 J i noticed to my surprise it gave a fantastic finish to the aircraft, no blotches, no sign of uneven paint, a slight shine but not to the levels of a satin or gloss lacquer. It was fantastic after applying it all over the B-25 i am delighted with the finish it has given. It looks alot better.

So after the long story my question is, has anyone ever stumbled across an everyday substance, material or object that they have found to beneficial when it comes to modelling in some capacity? The most obvious one i can think of is oven cleaner being used as a paint stripper.

Also is there any 'light wax' product on the market for modellers to use?