Majuro Atoll aerial photo - aircraft present

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

RMIAP

Recruit
Dec 29, 2014
Hi,
I'm a geologist doing some work in the Marshall Islands and have come across 2 vertical aerial photos of Majuro Atoll. One is dated 14 Dec 1944, the other is undated. I am nearly certain the undated photo pre-dates the December 1944 photo as there are a lot more structures present in the December 1944 image, which is typical after the US took control from the Japanese.
Maj_WWII.jpg

Some of the metadata on the photo provides some detail of the photo (i.e. focal length/elevation), but I'm not 100% sure of the date. My educated guess from the metadata below is the photo was taken 03/20/1943 at 23:00 hr GMT. I am not certain what 43IBS means in the photo metadata.

(ADVON-43IBS-7AAF-4MSP)(V-1)(3:20:23:00Z)(24:10000)
MAJURO, MARSHALL GP.

Would anyone know how I'd be able to get concrete info on the date of the photo? I know very little about WWII aviation, perhaps someone might be able to identify the aircraft in the photo and the meaning of the metadata.

Many thanks!

Awesome, thanks. I guess this dates the photo between Feb 1944 and Dec 1944. I have a few oblique photos from this time if anyone is interested.

I'm not sure exactly how U.S. photo annotation was done, but some of it is similar to the format used by RAF PR and other units, with the unit (that took the photo), location, time, date, altitude or map scale etc.
In that case, then yes, the photo was taken by an aircraft from the 431st Bombardment Squadron, 7th Army Air Force.
The '4MSP' I'm guessing is a sub-unit, or detachment, and may be something like '4th Maritime Surveillance - Photographic' - but that's only a slightly informed guess.