multiplayer for a newbie? (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

strangepork

Recruit
Mar 19, 2009
I am a tech guy, and know how to read faqs before posting, but yet I am still at a loss right now.

I have il-2 sturm, the 1996 version (latest?), and just bought it a week ago online. I havent found any patches for it, but that might be a problem.

When i try to join multiplayer, it seems to only want to scan my local lan (port 21000) and not the internet in general, or have a way for me to find a server, or even to connect to a friends IP addr if he was hosting.

What am I missing? Do i just need to get his IP via phone and type it in in front of the :21000? Is there any service or gamespy or what have you to find servers?

thanks in advance!

And how do i know if i am fully patched??

Dr. Strangepork
Future casualty in ME-110s and Hurricane-IIBs

Welcome to the fourms!

The original game was released in 2001, by the way :)

When you load the game, the version is displayed in the lower left-hand corner. Patched with the most current (as of a number of years ago) updates, mine says V1.2 and as far as the the updates go, you can try the original site, which has since been modified to inclide Pacific Fighters, Forgotten Battles, Aces and 1946 Pacific Fighters | Ubisoft and check the menu on the left.

For multiplayer, you can either host or you can join a game. When you click on Multiplayer, you get a couple options: Play it on Ubi.com, Join Server or Create New Server. I've never tried the "Play it on Ubi.com" so I can't help ya' there...