Newbie material - BF 109; FW-190; Spitfire MK XXI

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Gonçalo Vale

Airman
Feb 11, 2014
Portugal
Hello to all!

This is my first thread where I will expose some (all) of my works. As I confessed in my presentation (in the forum) I'm new to the hobby and I really want to develop my skills. I already saw in this forum that most of you are very skilled professional modelers that build fantastic Kits! So I hope I can learn something with you! Ok. Let's get to the business:

1º - My first aircraft was a Messerchmitt BF-109, 1/72 from academy. Overall I had no idea if it quality was good or bad. The plastic had some marks, that I tried to sand and I had my first experience with putty. However I still don't know how use it. Every time I put the putty, I let it dry and when I sanded it back it always come out of the plastic. That's when I started again and again until I gave up. In what concern the colors, I made the mistake of going to the store without the proper reference, so I bought them based in what I supposed to be the right color. As you can imagine… it went so wrong. In fact, I bought lighter colors that what it was supposed to be, so in the end I had the feeling that I had built Cher (the singer) messerchmitt. (in the picture I don't show the beautiful "baby blue" colour that I painted the lower part of the plane.)

The other aspect it is about the communication wire, I just can't put it! I don't know what you people do, because they always look so stretched and real.

Now the second aircraft