One for the I.T people among us...

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

<simon>

Airman 1st Class
Jan 24, 2008
Heyfield, Victoria
In the "What do you do for a living" thread I noticed a few people were I.T techies.
I'm wondering if anyone could help me with a problem i'm having with my emails (Outlook)/whole account.

Firstly, my account doesn't work.

When i try to log into my account it says I have a corrupt local file and it logs me into a temporary account.
After doing a disk defragment, I've found the "dud" file is or has something to do with my emails.
Now, I cannot access my emails at all as I can't log into my account, so I can't figure out what is the "dud" file and delete it or something.

Can anyone give me a bit of over-the-net advice??
Or do i need to get serious and take it to someone??

It is reasonably urgent as I know people have been trying to email me.

Thanks
Simon

I am a network engineer, so not an expert on Outlook, but it sounds like your PST file is the one that got corrupted. You may want to try opening outlook at seeing if the settings are right for your incoming and outgoing mail. Also look to see where it says to put your local mail. If it lost that setting, you won't see your previous mails.

If this is for home use, I highly recommend getting off Outlook and using Thunderbird. It's a way better e-mail client.

I recommend Hotmail or Gmail. Internet-based, can be checked from anywhere.

For fixing Outlook issues.....there's always "System Recovery" (nuke the dang thing and start from factory settings) or a sledgehammer. Both are fun, and theraputic!

Haha, as much as I would love to nuke it and start again, there are lot of messages of reasonable importance on my Outlook.

Something I will keep in mind though Rabidalien!