page problem

Discussion in 'Errors / Problems' started by ellis995, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. ellis995

    ellis995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Easington Lane UK
    Hi

    When i switched my laptop on this morning, everything fine until i put the forum on. It takes ages for it to load a page. getting on the forum is no problem, it is just getting onto any page. I can go and put the kettle on and come back and still the page has not loaded.
     
  2. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    It's been slow for me this morning as well. I thought it was my machine because it has been having some issues. Not sure what I can do, but I will take a look.
     
  3. imalko

    imalko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Vojvodina, Serbia
    Same problem here. Forum running slow when opening pages.
     
  4. ellis995

    ellis995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Easington Lane UK
    I have had to go back to explorer. Not the fastest but:?: As i normally use Firefox.
     
  5. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    Now this is just odd! I switched over to IE 8.0 (I usually use firefox) and it was blazing fast on IE. Then I went back to firefox to compare and it is fine in firefox again. I know firefox has made a number of patches lately. Perhaps one of those patches is doing something odd. It has crashed or frozen on me for the last couple of days.
     
  6. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,770
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Yeah it (Firefox) has done the same for me as well. Forum was slow this morning but it seems fine now.
     
  7. ellis995

    ellis995 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    unemployed
    Location:
    Easington Lane UK
    Strange :?:

    Back up and running on Firefox
     
  8. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,695
    Likes Received:
    1,418
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Hmm. Interesting. I run on I.E., and I've have similar problems on a regular basis, only on the forum. Waiting for the ads to load is also a pain, as this can really delay things. What's the general opinion regarding Firefox, compared to I.E? And, if I change, will there be any problems with my other 'services', such as 'Windows Hotmail' for e-mails? Sorry for the basic question, but I'm still on a learning curve!!
     
  9. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,770
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Firefox = Faster + no ads (with the right addons) and more secure. No problems with other services at all, most video sites stream better as well (especially HD and divx).
     
  10. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,695
    Likes Received:
    1,418
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Thanks Hugh! Looks like it's Firefox for me then!
     
  11. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,205
    Likes Received:
    2,042
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    #11 GrauGeist, Aug 19, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2009
    There was a hub that went down on the internet, and was causing trouble for the past 48 hours in North America. This caused serious "bottlenecking" of internet traffic. There's still two routers down at the time of this posting, one in Canada (Ontario) and one in Georgia.

    I didn't have much trouble with servers that were on the west coast of the U.S., but any sites that were back east were really loading slow for a while there and in some cases, not loading at all.

    Not sure what caused it, but things are looking like they're back to normal now.
     
Loading...

Share This Page