Planning on Getting IL-2

Discussion in 'IL-2 Sturmovik Pilot's Lounge' started by Gnomey, Jan 3, 2006.

  1. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    OK, I received some vouchers for Christmas (as you do) and have decided to get IL-2, from what I have read in this forum the original is not the one to get so it that case do I go for Forgotten Battles or Pacific Fighters (or just the original with the aces expansion pack)??? What would you lot recommend?
     
  2. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    The Aces Expansion Pack is for Forgotten Battles, not the original IL2. These days, IL2:Forgotten Battles and the Aces Expansion Pack can usually be found together in a Gold Pack, if you can still find it anywhere. It's probably a bit harder to come by now, but you never know. Your local shops may still have a copy or two kicking around. I still see it for sale at the local EB Games store here. You could probably always find it on e-Bay too.

    The ideal thing would be to get all three together (FB, AEP, and Pacific Fighters). That way you get every patch included already, up to patch 3.04 I think it is, and a huge assortment of planes and mission map objects to play with. You can then download the latest patches (that include even more planes 'n things) from Ubi's official site: http://www.pacific-fighters.com/en/updates.php

    As you know though, you could always play Pacific Fighters by itself if you wish, just as with IL2:Forgotten Battles, but you'd only get a fraction of the planes and maps. Pacific maps, naturally.

    Go for the gusto, man! Get the lot! :D
     
  3. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Had a look on Amazon and I think I will get PF and FB there (and have some money left over for a book and then get AEP from HMV. How will it run on my PC anyway because if it is going to be lagging, I might not get it and look at CoD or something similar instead?

    Specs:
    Celeron 1.5Ghz
    512MB RAM
    64MB Gfx
    40GB HD
     
  4. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    My specs are actually very similar to yours (*sigh* :( ), although I have a bigger hard drive, and the game runs great. I do occasionally experience some stutter with the game play when too many moving objects are going at once, but it usually takes quite a bit to cause that to happen. Most of the missions I play take the action in stages or logical sequences, so the action at any one time stays manageable for the most part.

    C'mon, go for it. Y'know ya wanna. ;)
     
  5. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    I was just making sure it will run fine on my PC first. Yes I will be going for it (when I get around to doing it that is). Maybe I will see you flying around?
     
  6. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    I don't much play on-line anymore. Too many weenies out there for me. ;)
    I enjoy setting up my own missions in Full Mission Builder. It's enough for me.
     
  7. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    I cant figure out how to do the Full Mission Builder.... I never bothered to find a tutorial to figure it out... And Ive never played online....
     
  8. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    I'm sure I will try that out a fair bit to keep everything new and exciting and if the bots are good enough that is fine by me, sometimes COOP is just more fun.
     
  9. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    The AI has been improved somewhat with the latest patch (4.02). The computer pilots are still a bit predictable, but with the difficulty set to veteran or ace, it's alright. I like it. You'd have to judge for yourself of course.

    For anyone who might be interested, here's a good FMB tutorial. It works the same way for both IL2 and Pacific Fighters: http://www.jumpintojapan.com/index.html
     
  10. cheddar cheese

    cheddar cheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20,349
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    WSM, England
    I know how to use FMB, but I dont have the time or patience to set up a mission. Once I put an enemy mistel on there to see what it looked like but it only came up with the Ju-88 part :cry:
     
  11. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Well I purchased it on Amazon today (both FB and PF) so (hopefully) it will be arriving next week. I will get some screens for you at some point as well (although not up to the standard shown - not yet anyway). Will be getting AEP at some point from HMV as well.
     
  12. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Yeah, that one's a bit tricky. It was a pain in the ass to finally figure out, but I did it. You have to set the Ju-88 Mistel way-points first, and then set a single Fw-190 landing way-point attached to the Ju-88. It usually works. I still sometimes have to frig around with it to get it to work properly.

    :combustion:
     
  13. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Or another way that I'd forgotten about is this. It works a little better. This is a mission I created a long time ago, using the Mistel.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. the lancaster kicks ass

    the lancaster kicks ass Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    19,980
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    looks complicated.............
     
  15. cheddar cheese

    cheddar cheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20,349
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    WSM, England
    Aha awesome, cheers NS...

    Its not so hard as it looks, just gotta take it one step at a time.
     
  16. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Ok I have got IL-2:FB and PF (I will get AEP next week, when I will also install PF). At the moment I only have FB installed for the reason I just said. What patches do I need? As I haven't seen any on the Ubisoft website but I know there are some to get.
     
  17. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
  18. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,760
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Thanks NS.
     
  19. Nonskimmer

    Nonskimmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    8,848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Naval Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Anytime, buddy. I hope it helps.:thumbleft:
     
  20. Hot Space

    Hot Space Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Ghost Hunter.
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    Home Page:
    Howya getting on with it m8?
     
Loading...

Share This Page