Please, need some help on WWII Soviet painting scheme! (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Hello, guys... I have some Soviet aircraft in my WWII/Korean War model collection. I have read somewhere that no VVS aircraft of WWII displayed the red star on the top of the wings. Now, I have these two models (P-39 Airacobra "White 1" flown by Grigoriy Dol'nikov and Ivan Babak; and Polykarpov I-16 Rata, probably flown by Capt. Boris Safonov) showing the red star on top. I found an artistic image of this I-16 in the internet displaying the red star on the top of the wing. So, I don't know what's the correct painting scheme of these airplanes. Can you experts out there help me on that? Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• P1010109.JPG
    P1010109.JPG
    109 KB · Views: 280
  • 1_1_b7.jpg
    1_1_b7.jpg
    45.3 KB · Views: 403
Hmm, I'm not an expert but surely Soviet a/c carried the red star on upper surfaces to aid identification? Otherwise you'd end up with a lot of 'Red-on-Red' incidents involving friendlies bouncing each other...

Try searching Wings Pallette, they should have some good profiles. I found one profile of a P-39 that didnt have the stars on the upper surfaces of the wings.

WINGS PALETTE - Bell P-39 Airacobra - USSR/Russia

Hope this helps!

Thanks. Yes, I did try WINGS PALETTE before. The Rata's profile you see up in this page was downloaded from that website. It does show the red star on the upper surface of Safonov's I-16. So, the info about VVS's painting schemes seems very confusing.

Not all Russian/Soviet aircraft carried the Red Stars on the upper wings....you need to check references for your particular subject(s)

...and I wouldn't take Wings Palette as being gospel either....

Last edited:
fotoshotdowncr.jpg