Problems with 'Hotmail'?

Discussion in 'OFF-Topic / Misc.' started by Airframes, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    A few days ago, 'Windows Live Hotmail' was updated and 'improved'. Ever since, I've had problems, not being able to access e-mails, send new e-mails, in fact, all I can do is view the screen!
    I have been able to open one message, after clearing all the browser history, but nothing since!
    Is anyone else who uses 'Hotmail' having a similar problem?
    i have NO idea how to solve the problem, and there is no way, I know of, to inform the administrators of 'Hotmail'.
     
  2. RabidAlien

    RabidAlien Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Hurst, Texas
    What browser are you using? If you're an IE user, try opening Hotmail using Firefox or Opera. I had problems with a junk hotmail account in the past, using IE. Eventually there was another 'patch' that 'fixed' the 'problem', but I try to stay away from Microsoft products if possible.
     
  3. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Thanks RA. Yes, I still use IE, as I had problems with some applications when I tried Firefox, particularly recognition of pictures. (That was a compatability problem, and meant swaopping back and forth.)
    I managed to open some messages yesterday, but can't do anything today ! I'm hoping it's just a temporary glitch on their system. Everything else on my PC works fine.
    Any suggestions will be gratefully accepted !
     
  4. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,780
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    If you have Microsoft Outlook. Go to the Microsoft site and search for "Outlook Live Connector" or something similar. Enter your details and you never have to go to the Hotmail site.
     
  5. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Never used Hotmail, always used Yahoo....
    Hope that you'll get it sorted old boy!
     
  6. B-17engineer

    B-17engineer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14,953
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    model builder
    Location:
    Revis Island.
    Coldmail works a bit better....

    I'll get me coat...
     
  7. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Boooooh! :lol:
     
  8. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Don't think I've got 'Outlook', but I'll check. (The 'Hotmail' is liasted in my 'Favourites' box, for ease of access.) This is a real pain !
     
  9. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Haven't used the Outlook Express for years...still lived in Sweden, when I last used it.
     
  10. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,780
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Not Outlook Express. Outlook (comes with Microsoft Office). That being said, I've just tried the Hotmail website and had no problems accessing or reading any of my emails.
     
  11. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Thanks Hugh, I'll have a look. It might just be a temporary thing, as I've noticed 'Hotmail', and only this application, have been very slow, off and on, recently.
     
  12. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Well,tried 'Outlook', and although it configured, it showed NO messages in the in-box ! Still can't do anything at all in the 'Hotmail' either! Anyone know how to contact them??!!
     
  13. B-17engineer

    B-17engineer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14,953
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    model builder
    Location:
    Revis Island.
    Yeah once you get messages it'll show them?
     
  14. RabidAlien

    RabidAlien Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Hurst, Texas
    I deleted my account after it got hacked....guess I should check my junkmail more than once a quarter! Someone with a Hotmail account should be able to get their support email for you. Sign up for a Yahoo or Google mail account (they're free), and contact Hotmail. Or, since its owned by Microsoft now, you could contact them. Again, though, you'd have to have an email address they could respond to.

    BTW, do you shut your computer down regularly? If not, try rebooting once in a while to clear the memory cache. Also, you can go into Internet Explorer--Tools--Internet Options and use the options there to delete cookies, browser history, temp pages, etc. If nothing else, it'll help your computer breathe a bit easier.
     
  15. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Thanks RA. Yes, I shut down regularly, after every use, and I've also cleared the memory cache, browser history etc. this was suggested on the so-called 'Help' page of 'Hotmail', with a mention that some functions might be different since the 'improvements' ! No mention of how to carry out any 'different functions' though !
    I'm recieving e-mails - jsut can't open them or reply, or delete. the only item which works is clicking on 'Contacts' - I can then see my entire list of contacts, the ones I can't reply to, or send new messages to !
    I would change to another provider, but I want to, and need to, retain my current e-mail address.
     
  16. B-17engineer

    B-17engineer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14,953
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    model builder
    Location:
    Revis Island.
  17. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    You could try Google Chrome (webbrowser) as well. I had issues with FF and Hotmail some weeks ago, changed to Chrome and it worked. Now that the issues with FF seems to be solved, I switched back to FF.
     
  18. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Thanks Marcel, I'll give that a try.
     
  19. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,707
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I've changed over to Google Chrome, and that seems to have done the trick ! It also seems to be a lot faster too !
    Thanks for the help guys, and thank you very much for the suggestion Marcel !
     
  20. RabidAlien

    RabidAlien Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Hurst, Texas
    No prob! IE isn't a bad browser, its just bloated and slow (hey, its Microsoft, after all) and has a lot more security risks than Firefox or Chrome. I played around with Chrome for a bit, but went back to Firefox.
     
Loading...

Share This Page