Swiss Fighter Evaluation Report Leaked, Rafale beat Typhoon

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Interesting post mate.

Thing is, one weapon may be better or cheaper than another, but it's always politics that decides the sale. And usually badly.

Hi, marshall,
How come the Grippen is inferior to Swiss F-18s?

I'm not an expert (unfortunately) so I can't explain this to you, but that's what the report says.

The Swiss did some flight testing (Gripen, Rafale, Eurofighter, Swiss F-18 ) in 2008 or 2009 and later they evaluated proposals of upgrades from manufacturers to these aircraft and they concluded that Gripen is inferior to the F-18, at least in some aspects. The Gripen did not met the minimum requirements but they still want to buy it.

You can read the report yourself, it's not long (though it's also probably not complete) and it's in English.

Sounds dodgy to me too have to say. Met some RAAF pilots while in the RNZAF, who lamented the replacement of their A-4G Skyhawks for F-18s. They much preferred the A-4.

Sounds dodgy to me too have to say. Met some RAAF pilots while in the RNZAF, who lamented the replacement of their A-4G Skyhawks for F-18s. They much preferred the A-4.
I guess those pilots didnt know much. as much I like the A-4 there is almost no comparison between the 2 planes.

I know what you mean, it was similar in Poland when F-16s were bought, some people thought why we need F-16 when we have MiG-29.

Mind you was it a C/D version or the NG (or E/F I think) they flew? The NG (E/F) will more fuel capacity, more hard points, super cruise, longer action radius, etc., etc. The Swedish Air Force will be flying this version before the Swiss....

---- upgrades jas 39 gripen NG ----

• Increased range
• Increased MTOW
• Added weapons stores
• Increased thrust
• NORA AESA (Active Electronic Scanning Array)
• MIDAS (Multifunction Defensive Avionics System)
• Enhanced EWS