Warbird Abuse?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

GrauGeist

Generalfeldmarschall zur Luftschiff Abteilung
I came across a photo and discussion at Facebook today, regarding a pilot who was stunt flying a P-51D. Facebook - Sierra Hotel Aeronautics

Snorts_lowpass.jpg

While I think Dale "Snort" Snodgrass (U.S. Navy, ret.) has exceptional skills as a pilot, I disagreed about a recent photo of him stunt flying a P-51D ridiculously close to the deck, clearing the port wing by only several feet.

My point is that warbirds (and thier pilots) are disappearing at an alarming rate, and if he wants to bust out a few wild stunts like that, do it in a modern aircraft (and certainly not where he'd be putting others at risk). I think there's too many random elements that can make an adrenalin filled buzz pass go horribly wrong, no matter how skilled a person is...

I'm just interested to see what other's thoughts are on this.

Is that photo legit???

I say that because of the proximity of the Mustang to that twin, and to the golf cart. I have a hard time believing any pilot, no matter how foolhardy, would be THAT foolhardy.

Apparently you don't know Dale Snodgrass very well.

Try Googling "Dale Snodgrass Low Pass" and see what comes up. He's been doing this for YEARS in everything from F-14 Tomcats down the side of an active Navy Carrier to MiG-17's to P-51's and F-86's, etc. Dale has not hit anything and has been doing this stuff for more than 25 years in high-performance airplanes.

When you're good, you're good, and Dale IS good. If the owner is OK with low passes, and the pilot is OK with low passes, and the FAA is OK with low passes, and the Airshow Air Boss is OK with low passes, why do you think it is abuse? Why not enjoy the airshow?