Who Shot Down the Most Aces in WW2?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

gepp

Airman 1st Class
Aug 27, 2009
perth
Hi im a newbie so i hope i posted this in the right place:confused:
Iv been reading up on Luftwaffe Ace Otto Schulz he shot down 7 ace's out of his 51 kills thats the most iv heard of by 1 pilot dose anyone know of any higher?:)

I would be very very curious as to whom the '7' might be. There were very few Mustang aces shot down air to air in the ETO. Most aces shot down were downed by flak. My father's group had zero (aces) shot down air to air - two to flak

It would be important to first establish that he shot down one - much less seven by matching units and times of his claims? Do you have the dates and locations, as well as the Staffel he was flying in?

Regards,

Bill

I'm with Bill, most aces were shot down by triple-A.

George Preddy, for instance, was killed by friendly-fire from an anti-aircraft battery while pursuing several German fighters over Belgium.

AAA is the most likely reason that many aces were killed, since they had a lot of combat experience and could (possibly) get out of a deadly air-to-air situation with a foe.

he was an ace with JG 27 over the Afrika cont. battling P-40's and Hurri's. he had no chance ever of facing P-47's and P-51's as he was killed in 1942.

Otto Schulz flew in 2./JG 27 4./JG 27 the aces he shot down were all in North Africa 1941-1942.
between 20 Oct 30 Nov 1941 he shot down
Pilot Officer Neville Duke .28
Sergeant Alan Cameron (6.5 victories)
15 dec 1941
Pilot Officer Geoffrey Ranger (5 victories)
15 February 1942
RAF Ernest "Imshi" Mason(15)
11 Jan 1942
Australian Flying Officer "Nicky" Barr (11 victories)
31 May 1942
Major Andrew Duncan (5.5 victories)
17 June 1942
claiming his 51st and last kill Flight Lieutenant Walter "Wally" Conrad (6.5 victories)
same day he was killed by Canadian ace James "Stocky" Edwards