Why no pilot?

Discussion in 'Modeling' started by diddyriddick, Oct 20, 2010.

1. diddyriddick

diddyriddick Active Member

My apologies if this has been posted before.

I'm not an expert model builder, so I wanted to ask the input of the group. Why don't you incorporate the pilot figure into your finished builds?

2. Capt. Vick

Capt. Vick Well-Known Member

If I may be so bold, at least in 1/72 scale, no matter how good they are painted (and they usually are not due to many factors) they still look "fake", that is toy like, and actually take away from the look of the model. Plus they hide cockpit detail. My 2 cents.

3. Colin1

Colin1 Active Member

Engineer and overgrown schoolboy
    Yep
    my impression of the pilot figures that came with the kits is that they always seemed to be an afterthought, there was no attempt to animate the pilot in any way eg head and torso cranked round to get an eyeball on what it was that just flashed past him.

Even well painted (in the larger scales) he really just sat there, bolt upright, hands in his lap looking dead ahead; I can't remember seeing a kit where the pilot came as a head, arms, legs and torso and the modeller could animate him - I think the Monogram 1/32 transparent P-51 Mustang had one but that's a dim and distant memory I'm trying to call on.

4. BombTaxi

BombTaxi Active Member

I would agree with Vick, the pilot figures do not look good unless you are willing to spend serious wedge on resin figures, in which case the crew may well cost more than the kit did. Also, many 1/72 kits do not include figures - Italeri kits usually don't, nor do some Airfix releases. If you have done a really good job on the cockpit, or done some scratchbuilding, or splashed out on some PE, the figure obscures the view anyways.

5. N4521U

N4521U Well-Known Member

reduced to all around slobbing
    They just look dorkey staring into space, never bloody blinking! Never letting go of the stick!

6. vikingBerserker