Willy Messerchmidt and his gliders: Do pictures exist?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

GyroCaptain

Recruit
Nov 19, 2007
I discovered this forum via Google, and figured it was the place to ask this question:
Do any photos exist of Willy Messerchmidt in digital form? I was doing research for a project and was stunned at the lack of information on Bayern Flugzeugwerke pre-war, Willy Messerschmidt, Hugo Junkers, and so on.

You'd figure there would be pictures of WM's early gliders, but I haven't found them either. If not on the web, are there print resources concerning the inter-war period in German aviation that any of you recommend?

(I own a copy of a book on JG 26 that has Condor legion 109s being fitted with fake MGs, that's the sort of thing that would be interesting.)

I'm a student at Georgia Tech, so any book within the GA university system is one I can lay my hands on. But I need a title. :D

Hi Gyrocaptain,

>If not on the web, are there print resources concerning the inter-war period in German aviation that any of you recommend?

Armand van Ishoven's "Messerschmitt - Aircraft Designer" has three pictures of the S8 (with a Wright-style carnard and rudder arrangement, but a monoplane wing) and one each of the S10, S13 and S14 (which are considerably more modern).

Regards,

Henning (HoHun)

The book I am currently reading is called The History of German Aviation Willy Messerschmitt: Pioneer of Aviation Design by Hans J Ebert/Johann B Kaiser/Klaus Peters. ISBN: 0-7643-0727-4

Covers just about every aircraft that Willy Messerschmitt ever built from gliders on up to jets and even the cars he produced after the war.