1/32 Hawker Tempest V - Special Hobby

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

WolfRacer

Airman
Mar 15, 2016
Hi everyone!

So I'm just starting out on this kit. Partly because I have some questions I hope people can help me out with :)

A couple of questions I had and maybe someone can answer or point me to sources...

1. Cockpit colours, the kit suggests the RAF cockpit green for the framework, lower parts of the sidewalls and details (rudder pedals, seat, footrests, firewalls etc), with black for the upper parts of the sidewalls, instrument panels, head armour, gunsight and gunsight frames. Does this sound right? I've seen others do Tempest kits that were entirely black interiors and still others that were almost entirely green.

2. Seatbelts, anyone have a picture of what these should look like? The kit instructions show how to thread them, but there's no "finished" picture so I don't know how much of the strap should be passed through the buckles, how they should drape and so on.

Anyway, on with it! I like to ramble so feel free to jump to the pictures if you don't care :lol:

I started off by polishing the canopy. Unfortunately it came slightly scratched and somewhat scuffed. The kit as a whole seemed poorly packed for such an expensive model, several of the resin bits were broken and many parts have scuff marks on them from rubbing against adjacent sprues, but anyway. I decided to start by polishing the canopy because I've never had to remove scratches before and needed to find out if I'd have to figure out a replacement part. I think in the end it came up alright. Unfortunately I didn't think to take any "before" pictures for potential buyers of the kit to check out.