1/48 B-17G - Allied Advance and Defense of the Reich WWII.

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Donivanp

Captain
Feb 23, 2014
Katy Texas
IMG_3583.JPG
IMG_3583.JPG
Username: Donivanp
Name: Don
Category: Intermediate
Scale: 1:48
Manufacturer: Monogram
Model Type: B-17 G Flying Fortress
Accessories: Eduard and True detail sets and brass gun barrels

Last edited:
OK so I've been having some time following through with the GB's, Been with out a job since June of last year save for a month Aug -Sep. Driving me up a wall and to be honest, I have not really been into the last couple and should have stayed out. I don't like to duplicate anyone else build but I have been building up for this (the kit, not the GB) for about three years and the time is right. So for that I apologies to Jeff, though I know that is not needed, still I do.

The B-17 was the most iconic war plane of WWII, (I know my opinion), and though not the best aircraft, (even in it's category), nore the most mass produced, (even in it's category), when people are asked what aircraft comes to mind in WWII, the B-17 is most likely to come to mind. I know I am stepping on toes here of my friends of other nations but It is true. The Lancaster was a better bomber in payload and endurance, the B-24 flew longer and with a larger payload and was the most produced Heavy Bomber of WWII. the list goes on but the fact still remains, Boeing got the publicity.

The B-17G was the last in a line of WWII Boeing bombers, many hard lessons were learned and incorporated in to this variant. The thing that most people will note though is the chin turret as the iconic lines of the bomber were changes.