1st Piggy Back

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

drgondog

Major
Jun 28, 2006
Scurry, Texas
It looks like it will have to be several sequential posts. PLEASE DO NOT REPRODUCE - This is part of my new book 'Our Might Always - Volume I"

Part 1
APPENDIX K

THE FIRST PIGGY BACK RESCUE

By

Colonel Royce Priest USAF (retired) in a letter to Bill Marshall dated December 2002

Dear Bill - I first came to the 355th Fighter Group after a combination of fortuitous circumstances, some of which have a bearing on this story.

I ran away from school before I graduated, and lied about my age to enlist in the Army Air Corps. I wanted to fly more than anything else in the world but pilots weren't being accepted into the Air Corps unless they had at least a couple of years in college. I couldn't afford college and my current employer (United States Army) didn't see anything extraordinary in a wet behind the ears enlisted man to cause them to break the rules and send me to flight school. But I had a dream. My first Sergeant and my CO took a liking to me and let me know that United States Military Academy took one or two qualified enlisted men from the ranks based on passing the Entrance Exam – and informed me they would help me prep for it.

Two years and two failures later, I took the exam one more time and volunteered for Glider School, thinking it would bring me one step closer to my dream. At the time I was a Non Commissioned Officer. I graduated from Glider School at the top of my class, and learned at the same time that the Army had enough and probably would not form another squadron or fill replacements any time soon. My Colonel at the school asked "Would you be interested in going to Flight School as a Pilot Candidate?". What a question!