Anybody have a clue why when I go to "Manage attachments" to post

Discussion in 'OFF-Topic / Misc.' started by Torch, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. Torch

    Torch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado
    a picture it won't let me? I click on it but nothing happens. Looks like my profile configs are ok..
     
  2. Crimea_River

    Crimea_River Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    25,143
    Likes Received:
    960
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Calgary
    I usually use the Quick Reply icon to posts pitures and haven't used the Manage Attachements button for a while. Last time I did though, maybe a month or two ago, it worked fine for me.
     
  3. at6

    at6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    158
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Fresno, California
    You might try the "go advanced" button.
     
  4. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    The "Manage Attachments" feature is part of the Advanced posting function.

    So far, I haven't had any problems...I've used it as recently as yesterday.
     
  5. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,623
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    #5 Wurger, Aug 21, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
    No problem with the Manage Attachment option. I clicked it today and the window for the File Selector has been opened. I added an image both with the Insert Line button and Done one. Check your settings for your net browser if you run Adblock, Firewal or other programs that can stop the opening of the pop-up windows.
     
  6. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,727
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Aaaah....the life of being unattached!

    No?

    Too soon?
     
  7. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    I used the manage attachment option again last night to rearrange and add photos to the Starlets of the Silver Screen thread and didn't have any troubles.
     
  8. Torch

    Torch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado
    hmmm I do go advance,will try the pop up config..
     
  9. Torch

    Torch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado
    Turns out it's my MSN Explorer,it used to work before I went to Windows 7. Geuss I'll just use Mozilla.
     
  10. N4521U

    N4521U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    reduced to all around slobbing
    Location:
    Miranda, NSW
    Do you tell it to "upload", then "done"?
     
  11. Torch

    Torch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado
    With MSN Explorer it never gets that far,never opens the upload window
     
  12. N4521U

    N4521U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    reduced to all around slobbing
    Location:
    Miranda, NSW
    This is what mine looks like when I go to Manage Files.

    1. Add Files.................then the box with 2 3 comes up.
    2. Select Files............ the photo you want to add, from your computer.
    3. Upload Files.......... this one must be selected to get the files to transfer to the forum.
    4. Done............. select this button after the file uploads and is in the bottom strip where the number 4 is and the box vanishes.
    Then Submit............ should be complete.

    Do you get any of this to come up??????
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Njaco

    Njaco The Pop-Tart Whisperer
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    23,053
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Animal Control Officer
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
  14. Torch

    Torch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado
    Thanks all. It must be some setting in my MSN.Explorer that I can't figure out or the firewall rules need to be looked at. I have no issues when I use Mozilla as a browser..
     
  15. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    Also check your browser's advanced options.

    In many cases, these client windows are driven by Javascript and if the security settings are too high, the script handling is disabled.

    The security settings in advanced options allow a user to adjust their Java, Javascript and Active-X settings that range from allowing all to run in the browser, to completely disable all instances in the browser.

    It seems to me, that your Javascript security settings may be a little too restrictive.
     
  16. Torch

    Torch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ok,will mess around later today...
     
  17. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,623
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    There has beee Java updated recently. Have you installed the updating? Also check if all Firefox plugins are updated.
     
  18. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    He's having issues with Internet Explorer :lol:
     
  19. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,623
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    Oh... I have omitted that. :lol: So it's the time for switching to a better net browser.
     
  20. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,188
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    To be honest, I have yet to see any browser perform without troubles anymore. They have made the internet so complex nowdays, that you have to upgrade software nearly every day and upgrade your hardware just about once a year just to keep up.

    I miss the simple days of basic HTML 3.2 and Javascript 1.1, where a typical webpage was about 5 or 6K and you could navigate the internet on just about anything without any problems...
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page