Complicated Question About Dropping Flaps

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Hi All:

As you might recall from my other threads, I am a novice assembling a 1/72 Academy P-51B. While it has taken me much longer than I anticipated, the build is coming along wonderful (token cockpit pic) and I don't want to mess it up.

Out of the box, the flaps were attached to the wing. I decided to try and drop them myself. With the help of the forums, I made the cuts and they are near perfect. I am very pleased.

After piddling around with this and that, I am finally to the point where I have to attach them and I am having some trouble. So far, I have attached the lower wing to the fuselage. I sanded the 'interior' of the wing to bring the visible thickness of the wing more in scale. I have also sanded the flaps. Even then, as you can see below, I don't have a lot of room to work with.

My question is, what are my options for actually attaching the flaps?? I am open to ideas and suggestions. Below are some pics of where I am at. I haven't glued anything other than the lower wing to the fuselage.

Token cockpit photo.

2jfcfpz.jpg

Here is an overview of the piece(s) I am working with. I would like the flap at 'full' extended position of 20 degrees.

2saleh1.gif

Here is a poor quality photo of the trailing edge of the wing. Took it a dozen times and couldn't get it to focus right. The top has been sanded fairly thin as the thickness was out of scale. The bottom was not touched as I figured you wouldn't see it anyway. Note the distance between the top and bottom. Doesn't look like I have much room to add anything to attach them.

28rjj1z.jpg

This is a pic of the flap, as seen from the side that will attach to the wing. As above, the top has been sanded and the bottom has not.

23qnow.jpg