how to accurately cut out and clean up vac-form clear parts?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

jjp_nl

Staff Sergeant
Apr 13, 2011
I've been working on my Spitty MK.22/MK.24 lately (see 'whats on the workbench) Among the aftermarket stuff I used is a vac-form canopy because especially the back sliding hood kitpart sits way too high on the fuselage (nowhere near the guiding rails)

So I got me some Squadron vacu-form replacements (the came in two's in my case). And out of the sealbag they look something like this. It comes with a good amount of excess clear plastic film. While I managed to remove the excess clear plastic somewhat OK following the Squadron instructions, I've found it to be a rather daunting task taking up quite a bit of time. I have to admit I have very little experience in handling vac-form clearparts, so I'm already glad I got away with how I did it, but looking at other peoples work I feel I could have done better.

So, I was wonding how some of you guys might go about removing any excess clear plastic and work it into a nice and smoothly cut out and well fitting clearpart. I understand the delicate nature of these vac-form parts makes working with extreme caution a necessity, but perhaps I have missed a special trick or technique to make things a bit easy.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance

45440afca5c10a2117eb2d3b3ba4.jpg

Last edited:
having been there done that....i have used a pair of scissors to trim away the main sections of excess plastic, followed by a SHARP knife to trim down close to the edges, following up with sandpaper and sometimes a file to carefully get down to the final edgeing of the frame. I usually take it VERY slowly with lots of dry fitting as I get the final shape right, this can take a while to get right due to the thin nature of the vacform canopy.