Il-2 Min Requirements?

Discussion in 'IL-2 Sturmovik Pilot's Lounge' started by Pisis, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    I just bought a new laptop...
    Pentium III Mobile CPU 1200 MHz
    790 MHz 256 MB RAM
    with S-3 Graphic SuperSavage/IXC 1014 graphic card


    Is it enough for playing Il-2? I guess it's OK only I'm not sure with the RAM...... I'd like to hear your experiences with minimum configuration.......

    Thanks for help.
    Pisis
     
  2. cheddar cheese

    cheddar cheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20,349
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    WSM, England
    IL2FB runs on 256 but reccomends 512...PF is 512...
     
  3. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Shitty situation...... I hate having laptop cause it's very difficult to upgrade them. I wanted to buy a new pc but this laptop was from a friend of mine and a complete bargain. Damn!
     
  4. loomaluftwaffe

    loomaluftwaffe Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    requirements (u know, i play PF with only 256MB RAM)
    Supported OS: Windows98/ME/XP/2000 only
    Processor: Pentium III or AMD Athlon 1GHz
    (Pentium Iv 2.4GHz recommended <-thats exactly my processor)
    Video Card: DirectX 9 compliant with 64MB RAM <-i have 64mb ram video card too

    Suppoerted Video Cards at time of releaseATI Radeon 7000/8000/9000/TX familias
    NVIDIA GeForce 256/2/3/4/FX/6 families
    Matrox parhelia
    Intel GMA 925X/915P/915G chipsets

    Latptop models of these cards not fully supported, these chipsets are the onnly ones that will run the game. Additiona; chipsets may be supported after release. For an up-to-date list of supported chipsets, please visit FAQ ar http://support.ubi.com
    Sound Card: DirectX 9 compliant
    DirectX version DirectX 9 or higher (inc. on disc)
    CD ROM 4x CD-ROM or better
    Hard Drive Space 1.1+ GB
    Multiplayer(optional): Broadband internet connection
     
  5. Pisis

    Pisis Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,925
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Praga Mater Urbium
    Damn. I'll just give it a try and I'll see.
    Thanks for info. :)
     
  6. Velius

    Velius Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    "Mechanical installer" is my official title- a fancy way of saying that I work on A/C structures.
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Wow this thread is old! Time to blow off some of the dust and make another post.

    Anyway I just got the game. Two games actually IL-2 and IL-2 Forgotten Battles (both in one pack for $10. Not bad I guess).

    I just installed one version (Not quite sure which one, I think it's the FB) but I can't install the other. For my first question; if I can install one, shouldn't the system requirements for that one be sufficient for the other?

    For my second question; it's knowing how to check if what I have meets or exceeds the min requirements.

    The game requires:
    Windows XP (only).........I have this

    Pentium III 800 or AMN Athlon 700 or better.........no idea what this is or how to check for it.

    256 MB RAM (512 MB RAM recommended)......according to my Computer's C drive properties I have about 40 GB free space.

    2 GB free hard disc space....... 40 GB, I should be good on this.

    32 MB DirectX 8.1 compatible 3d video card.........don't know what this is or how to check for it

    Direct X 8.1 compatible sound card..........same for this one

    4x CD-Rom or better (not recommended for use with CD-RWs)........and this one

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. lesofprimus

    lesofprimus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Communications
    Location:
    Long Island Native in Mississippi
    Home Page:
    Uve got to install the IL2 Sturmovik game first, then add on the Forgotten Battles....
     
  8. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,976
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    Answers in Black.

    Les, I believe FB is a game on it's own. I have FB, but not the original Il2 game. You can install Il2 Forgotten battles on it's own. This is the best one of the two. If your computer doesn't meet the requirements, then Il2 Sturmovic will probably still work as it was designed for older machines.
     
  9. Amsel

    Amsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Texas
    IL-2 1946 will give you FB and Pacific Fighters together and will alow you to be on the same game as most everyone.
     
  10. Velius

    Velius Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    "Mechanical installer" is my official title- a fancy way of saying that I work on A/C structures.
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Still having problems installing the game.

    I can get to the pictured page, but "Readme" and "Exit" are the only selectable options.

    I checked my system Marcel. Here's what I got:

    Operating Sys: Microsoft Windows XP home ed.
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 502MB RAM and 40GB hard disk space
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c

    For the 3d video card, I couldn't find the configuration screen, but I managed to find this under the "Sounds and audio" Hardware properties:

    -SigmaTel High Def Audio CODEC (not sure if this is it)

    Not sure if this helps any. Any help I do get is appreciated- I'm starting to run out of ideas on what to do.
     

    Attached Files:

    • FB.JPG
      FB.JPG
      File size:
      67.3 KB
      Views:
      9
  11. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,976
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    Hi Velius,

    Your CPU is allright, the fact that it states that you have 2 cpu's makes me suspect that you actually have a dualcore, not recognised by XP. But no problems there.
    RAM memory is enough, no problems there.
    Soundcard is ok as you're running DirectX9 without sound problems.

    The screen below is unusual. Maybe Les was right and you got the original with a FB add-on. Have you tried installing the older "Sturmovic" version first?
     
  12. BombTaxi

    BombTaxi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Barnsley, S. Yorks, UK
    You shouldn't need both versions installed together. FB was the 'sequel' to IL-2, and as such was a stand-alone, incorporating the events covered in IL-2s static campaigns within it's own dynamic campaign system.

    TBH Velius, you would have been much better off buying 1946, as you will find very few people playing online with any version lower than v4.08 - FB on it's own is about v3.03, IIRC, and even if you add Ace Expansion Pack and Pacific fighters, you would still have to buy 1946 and re-install the lot to get to v4.07...
     
  13. GrauGeist

    GrauGeist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15,185
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Public Safety Automotive Technician
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Home Page:
    Problem with '46 is that you have to have the necessary processor/memory graphics to run it.

    If you have an older machine (or in this case, a laptop), then FB should work fine.
     
  14. Velius

    Velius Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    "Mechanical installer" is my official title- a fancy way of saying that I work on A/C structures.
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Yup, and it plays without any problems, but FB still won't give me the "Install" option.

    I got these two because it was in a store (i.e. didn't have to get it on-line) and it was $10. Next time I get the opportunity, I'll think about getting 46.
     
  15. sturmer

    sturmer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    construction
    Location:
    antwerp
    hi velius,

    well i have the 3 games and il-2, il-2 FB and il-2 1946 are stand alone games. now my laptop has 1024mb memory and arround the same harddrive you have and it runs fine on it.
    but now that i look at ur screenshot i get a feeling that ur graphicscard needs an update (its just a feeling, maybe its already up-to-date)

    "For the 3d video card, I couldn't find the configuration screen, but I managed to find this under the "Sounds and audio" Hardware properties:

    -SigmaTel High Def Audio CODEC (not sure if this is it)"

    did you try this? Start>run> dxdiag
    there you should find ur videocard at monitor tab (or screen-tab).
    maybe you can find out if ur graphicscard is alright or out-dated.

    sturmer
     
  16. Velius

    Velius Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    "Mechanical installer" is my official title- a fancy way of saying that I work on A/C structures.
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Would it say "3D" card somewhere or am I looking for something else? The closest thing to the monitor or screen tab that I have is the "Display" tab. Here is what I got from it:

    Name: Intel 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
    Manufacturer: Intel Corp.
    Chip Type: (same as name)
    DAC type: Internal

    This help me any?
     
Loading...

Share This Page