Image Sizing Guidelines

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Gnomey, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,750
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    In light of the large numbers of images that are uploaded to the forum as attachments without resizing them from the original picture from the digital camera/other device. This results in a really large image.

    FOR THE FORUM THE RECOMMENDED IMAGE SIZE IS 800*600 Pixels


    TO RESIZE AN IMAGE FOR UPLOAD

    There is an easy workaround to this which is too resize the image before you upload it. This can be done in any number of freeware programs. The one that I would recommend (and I use it for quick jobs when not using Photoshop) is Irfanview. This can be downloaded from here: IrfanView - Official Homepage - one of the most popular viewers worldwide

    To resize a picture with Irfanview is easy and can be done is 3 simple steps.

    1) Load Irfanview and the image you wish to resize.
    2) Go to menu Image :arrow: Resize/Resample and reduce the image dimensions in pixels.
    3) Go to menu File :arrow: Save as, choose JPG and save as new file with a different file name to the original and upload to the forum.

    For many files you can use File :arrow: Batch Conversion
     
  2. smackers

    smackers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brandon, Suffolk
  3. Njaco

    Njaco The Pop-Tart Whisperer
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    23,053
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Animal Control Officer
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    Another program is GIMP...which is FREE, like ifraview.

    GIMP - The GNU Image Manipulation Program

    Same 3 steps:

    1) Download program

    2) Open pic with GIMP

    3) Choose "Scale Image" from the "Image" tab on the toolbar. Change the width and length accordingly - 800 pixels should be the largest that can go on the forum. Then use 'Save'.
     
  4. badbear

    badbear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I,m useing HP photosmart to resize mine its even simpler just hit resize then email size save as then save and hey presto done.BB
     
  5. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,664
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    It's not bad the HP system BB, but try Irfanview anyway, it's much, much more versatile overall than the HP one.
     
  6. badbear

    badbear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried irfanveiw Terry but could,t get on with it i have both hp photosmart and hp premier i find them alot more easy to use cheers anyway .BB
     
  7. T Bolt

    T Bolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bridge & Highway Construction Inspector
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    I use Microsoft picture manager to resize the pictures. It came with the computer and is easy to use. Open the picture with it then click on Edit Pictures at the top, then click on Resize over on the right side of the screen, then type in the desired pixel width in the box under Custom Width x Height then click on OK. The picture will regenerate at the new size and then hit the save bottom on top and your done.
     
  8. Wurger

    Wurger Siggy Master
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    47,646
    Likes Received:
    1,485
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    A retired military Navigator/ATC, FIS controller
    Location:
    Poland
    Uusung the Irfanview , all you have to do is to click the pic you want to re-size.And then hit the buttons Ctrl and R together.In the opened requester you need to write a new width of a picture for instance and click OK button And then Save button on the tool bar. Can it be anyting easier?
     
  9. wheelsup_cavu

    wheelsup_cavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,530
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    CNC Machinist/Programmer
    Location:
    Corona, California
    Home Page:
    Irfanview works real well for me too.


    Wheels
     
  10. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    For the ones using Linux, there's very quick way to resize all jpg files in a map, by typing:
    mogrify -resize 640 *.jpg
    This resizes all .jpg files to 640 pix wide maintaining ratio
     
  11. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Wouldn't it be easier if the forum did this automatically? I think that the Aeroscale does it that way.... Just wondering. :D
     
  12. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,750
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    It does for linked images but not for attachments. But yes it would be easier...
     
  13. Lucky13

    Lucky13 Forum Mascot

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    36,729
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Nightshift picker
    Location:
    A Swede living in Glasgow, Scotland
    Home Page:
    Is this something that can be arranged? Would be a lot easier for all involved.... (How grownup did that sound? :lol:)
     
  14. mikewint

    mikewint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    Likes Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired and living on the dole
    Location:
    Lakeview, AR
    Help, how do you post an image? I see the insert image icon but when i click on it, it ask for a URL? my pics are on my computer. i tried copy and paste but after copy paste is not available. What do i do?
     
  15. T Bolt

    T Bolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bridge & Highway Construction Inspector
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    Click on the "Advanced" button, then go down to the "Manage Attachment" button, and you will see 5 "Browse" buttons. Click on them and attach the picture on your computer. You can do 5 at a time, then it allows you another 5, and so on.
     
  16. mikewint

    mikewint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    Likes Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired and living on the dole
    Location:
    Lakeview, AR
    tbolt, thanks i got that far, now how do i get the pic actually into the post? the insert image still asks for a URL
     
  17. T Bolt

    T Bolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9,728
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bridge & Highway Construction Inspector
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #17 T Bolt, Aug 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
    After you click on 'Manage Attachments' the window that comes up has places for both URLs and Upload from your computer. The Upload From Your Computer section is the 5 "Browse ' buttons at the top of the window. Click on one of the "Browse" buttons and a window will open up showing the directories on your computer. find where the picture file is and double click on it and it will appear in the box. if you have another picture do the same with the next "Browse" button. When you have all the pictures, or have filled all 5 boxes click "upload". it will take a little bit and the picture files will appear below. if you want more pictures repeat. When done you can click "Preview Post" and see what it looks like. When you like it hit "Submit Post". Make sure the pictures are 800x600 or less

    Edit: Just saw you were from the Chicago area Too. Thought I was the only one.
     
  18. mikewint

    mikewint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    Likes Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired and living on the dole
    Location:
    Lakeview, AR
    yup good old joliet, but you misunderstood my second post. i uploaded my pics and i see them in the manage attachment box. how do i get them from there actually into the post box? clicking on the insert image icon still brings up that URL question.
     
  19. Marcel

    Marcel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Bioinformatician
    Location:
    Dordrecht
    Don't click on the insert image button, not necessary. It will display without problems.
     
  20. mikewint

    mikewint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,682
    Likes Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired and living on the dole
    Location:
    Lakeview, AR
    marcel, so once the images are up loaded and displayed in the attachment box they automatically appear in the message box?
    sat here for several minutes and nothing happened
     
Loading...

Share This Page