Let me tell you a history...

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

gekho

Master Sergeant
Jan 1, 2010
Spain
Let me tell you a history .... of an accident. As many of you already know, I am from Spain, and I have been writing in this forum for at least three years. Planes are my pasion, but not the only one; my other passion are the sports, and more specifically mountaineering. I live in the coast, but close where I live, you can find Sierra Nevada, a large mountain range with snow most of the year.

Let me tell you a story that combines my two passions: planes and mountaineering. The incident occurred March 8, 1960 near this small town in Southern Spain. Carrying U.S. service members from Naval Support Activities Naples to Naval Station Rota, the DC-4 "Skymaster" collided with a Sierra Nevada peak and crashed at 7,600 ft. above sea-level on the edge of a cliff in the snow. The inhabitants of the mountain town quickly went to the aid of the stranded crew and passengers five decades ago. Antonio Lorente, a citizen from J�rez, was one of the first to arrive at the crash site.

"It was worth it," said Lorente, who spent the first night in the plane awaiting assistance. "We did not know what happened, but that it was only necessary to help human beings."

There were no deaths resulting from the plane crash. Many attribute this to the local inhabitants providing their assistance as quickly as possible during a severe blizzard.

"This event shows the extraordinary side of human nature," said U.S. Ambassador to Spain, Alan D. Solomont during his speech. "Without regard to their own lives...they did what had to be done to save lives."

Lt. Deb Neuhaus, Naval Station Rota air terminal officer, located some of the survivors prior to the ceremony months ago to help the city invite them to participate in the ceremony.