MENG Cement Free Kits. Worth it?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Robert Porter

Senior Master Sergeant
Over at SprueBrothers they have a 1:48 P-51 Mustang Kit from MENG, I noticed the cover mentioned it was a cement free (assume snap together) kit.

I have never built one before by that manufacturer nor one that snaps together but I recall seeing mentions here and there in these forums that you should not equate snap together for kiddie kit.

Anyone on here have direct experience with these kits? How is the quality? Are the cockpits good? In short any strong opinions one way or another on them?

MNGLS006 1:48 Meng North American P-51D Mustang

Edit* Added the link to the kit in question.

It certainly looks the business. I'd be concerned about fuselage joints though, especially on a NMF aircraft, and I think I'd be gluing it.
Also, after time, there might be a chance that joints will show, regardless of what the colour scheme is.
Rather nice though, and it just shows how far model design and production techniques have advanced, even in the last twenty years.

I was pretty sure snap together or not a little glue would help. The kits have indeed come a long way from the Matchbox ones I remember. I can't see any reason I could not use glue and joint filler as needed. So I might give this one a go!

That Mustang looks like a great kit. My only reservation about the snap kits is that the friction fit is so tight that dry fitting can be difficult.

Just seen the first UK outlet for the Meng Mustang, at a reduced price of £31.99, normal retail price £35.
Don't care how good it is, that's too high a price for a 1/48th scale 'fighter size' kit, especially in light of what appears to be an excellent new 1/48th scale Mustang kit from Airfix, at around the £22 mark.

Just seen the first UK outlet for the Meng Mustang, at a reduced price of £31.99, normal retail price £35.