P-51 Mustang "Grim Reaper"

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Junior1213

Recruit
Feb 11, 2012
Hello all,
I'm a newbie to modelling but have learned a bit from a friend and looking at other builds online. I'm looking for constructive criticism. This is my first build so please any and all tips or suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance hope you like what's done so far and I will post more as I progress through the build. Special Thanks to my friend Mike for all his support and assistance.

IMAG0068.jpg
IMAG0069.jpg
IMAG0070.jpg
IMAG0071.jpg
IMAG0072.jpg
IMAG0073.jpg

Attachments

• IMAG0074.jpg
    IMAG0074.jpg
    851.5 KB · Views: 178
Last edited:
Welcome to the site and thank you for sharing your work here. It looks good. However if you want some opinion of mine ... a such kind of silver weathering in a cockpit should be limited to edges of these details there mostly . In fact, a such one appeared very seldom and is more distinctive of derelicted aircraft rather.
Also the oxygene corrugated rubber hose going from the regulator to the pilot's seat side wasn't made of metal. So it is illogical to paint it silver. It was of black or dark grey as memo serves. For colouring of cockpits I would suggest having a look at pictures of a such compartment that can be found via the Internet quite easy.
And additional tip... I would suggest protecting of inner edges of fuselage halves ( also wing ones) including set pins against painting. A paint is a very good preservative against a glue and makes a sticking process of model parts more difficult or even impossible. For masking such edges you can use strips of a masking tape.

Done some nice work there, but i agree with Wojtek little bit too much drybrushed silver, the effect you have created is good but now needs to be toned down a bit as the silver stands out just a bit more than it should.