Phantom FG.1 and FGR.2 Differences

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Hey guys,

I'm wondering, from a modeling perspective, what are the differences between the British Phantom FG.1 and FGR.2 are. There's a basic list on Wikipedia, and it doesn't look too long, and nothing that I'd really have to worry about, but Wikipedia isn't always right, and I'm far from an expert. I know there's the extending front gear, but otherwise would I be ok using a 1/48 Hasegawa FGR.2 kit without much issue? I'm trying to decide if I want to do an RN Ark Royal Phantom or an RAF one, which I have already purchased decals for. Maybe do an RN one alongside a certain Buccaneer kit that a certain member here loves! :lol: I already own the FGR.2 kit, and looking at ebay it doesn't look like I want to be buying another kit!

The Royal Navy Phantoms were handed over to the RAF when the FAA ceased operating conventional fixed-wing aircraft from carriers, following the change to the Sea Harrier.
Both the FG1 and FGR2 were in service with the RAF after this time, but issued to specific squadrons - the type wasn't mixed, and (normally) the sub-type squadrons would be based on the same airfield, for ease of maintenance, stores etc etc.