Wellington advice wanted

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

trackend

Chief Master Sergeant
Dec 20, 2003
Ipswich, Suffolk
I'm no modelling expert (slight under statement there :rolleyes:) so I need some help
I have a mind to build my uncle's MK 1 Wellington AL340 from RCAF 429 Bison Squadron (he was KIA after only a few missions)
my list of questions are as follows

1. In your opinions what is the best Wellington MK 1 kit around

2. Can I obtain decals for this aircraft.

3. I also need the camo layout any ideas

Finally any advice would be helpfull or as I am a novice would it be more successful to buy a pre built model and convert it to his aircraft if so how, ie removing/replacing decals weathering etc
many thanks

Lee the glue boy
see told you im useless I dont even know how to use liquid cement :)

Great to see ya around mate!

In 1:48, the Trumpeter kit is the way to go; in 1:72, either the MPM orTrumpeter Mk.1a's, or the Italeri Mk.X (reboxed MPM kit - contains all parts for the Mk.1a, III, and X)

The Trumpeter kit has more internal detail, but is apparently a little heavy handed in the geodetic wing structure detail. Looks good to me though in the photos I've seen.
I have the Italeri (MPM) Mk.X which is beautiful, though fittings and stations from the pilot's bulkhead aft need to be scratchbuilt.(Internal rib detail is nicely reproduced throughout the whole fueslage though)

About the decals, I'll have a look on the net for ya, also for the camo layout of 429 sqn. aircraft.

Evan

Thanks for that guys, brilliant info. I really like the Trumpeter 48th model so although pricey it will be the one I'll most likely go with