Decal application? What should I know?

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Blacklist

Airman 1st Class
Apr 17, 2015
Florida
Soon I will be applying 1/72 decals. Yes, they are small.

Are there tricks to this? What should I know?

I've never done this before.

Thanks in advance.

Blacklist

A good even gloss coat to start with. After that, there are as many ways to apply them as there are modellers. I'll let the others describe their favourite methods as I use most of them, sometimes on the same model

A good pair of tweezers to hold the decal and backing.
Either a brush or tooth pick to slide the decal off and then position it accurately.
A supply of paper towel and cotton buds to remove excess liquid and smooth the decal down.

You might also want to consider decal softeners for that 'painted on' look.

Cheers

Steve

Guys, thanks for the replies, it's appreciated.

What is decal softeners?

Can decals be cleared?

The surface is glass smooth, BTW.

Blacklist

You've got a fair selection of softening/setting solutions...

Decal-solutions.jpg

25-MS233-MS234.jpg

baddecalcombo_wm.jpg

Capture.JPG

From what I've read, put the setting solution on first to clean the area, slide the decal on and then use the softening solution. The softening solution "melts" the decal into recesses like panel lines and over rivets to created a painted on look. Some people just use one or the other. For stubborn decals, Walthers is one of the more aggressive and can actually destroy a decal. Some kit makers and after-market decal producers will recommend a certain brand. It's always best to test on a decal you aren't going to use

dscn0540d.jpg
dscn0564f.jpg
dscn0565.jpg
dscn0529.jpg
fubar57,

Thank you for the photos and info.

Why would I need that softener when my item is glass smooth?

I think I should Post a photo of my project.