GB-57 1/48 Spitfire Mk.Vc USAAF – WW2 Foreign Service

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

I suspect that primer actually shrinks plastic causing gaps.

I think it does. That's why I glued to brush bristle into the wing root, to give the PPP something to sit on, otherwise it would recede into the gap. I have some regular filler somewhere but I can't find it... I've glooped it up with PPP and sand back when it's full dry to see how it comes out.

Bit of progress to report. I've got as far as the basic camo, illustrated thusly…

Primer on, just the standard Humbrol grey stuff given a good rub down with 4000 micromesh:

1.jpg

Humbrol 89 Mid Blue on the underside (being a brush painter I don't have any of that preshading malarkey to think about):

2.jpg

Joined by Humbrol 225 Rampant Dysentery, I mean Middle Stone, on the upper surfaces. This took four or five heavily thinned coats (I use lighter fuel as a thinner); I allowed each coat to dry thoroughly and gave it a rub down with the micromesh before applying the next coat:

3.jpg

I freehanded the camo scheme with Maskol – if I get it wrong I can just peel it off and do it again:

4.jpg

Humbrol 29 Dark Earth to complete the camo, before removing the Maskol and further micromeshing:

5.jpg

6.jpg