Good day, my first post here. (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Ghost_71

Airman
May 2, 2021
Hi thank you for a very informative forum. I have just found this today & it has a ton of good info. I am an aircraft engineer based out of South Africa with the privilege of assisting/starting with the rebuild of the South African Air Forces only remaining Spitfire Mk9 Low back. Things are slow as its hard to find the right drawings (even though i have purchased some 3-4000 drawings) & tooling at an "affordable" cost. But your historic info here is stunning! Thank you!

Thank you all! Well, i have taken over(by default) the rebuild as it has been stagnant to dead for the last 20 years. I have only been on project for the last 6 months trying to find as much info as possible. I live in Cape Town, work in Mongolia & have to do the work in Pretoria at Zwartkops air force base. So its a bit of a jumble at the moment. We plan to start with all the smaller panels & bits we can afford to do without much money & then as we get working to start with the larger more time/cost consuming items. So planning planning planning! We also need to put up a hanger to do this project in as the museum has no real space for this project so that will take time & costs to. The guys at the friends of the museum are grate & keen but there is so much need there that one does not know were to start. Not much help from the SAAF or civvies sadly! But as we progress I will post some pictures!
Thanks again for an awesome forum! I hope to get lots of advise from the experienced here!!

Mainly28, we may need to draft you sir to find some Spitfire bits for us that side of the pond!! Glad your here!!

Great to know that you're getting to grips with this project. A low-back Mk.IX though - should that really be a Mk.XVI ?