My new computer!

Discussion in 'OFF-Topic / Misc.' started by plan_D, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. plan_D

    plan_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I've just ordered this mighty rig...



    CPU
    AMD® ATHLON® 64BIT FX62 @ 2.8GHZ 2 x 1MB L2 Cache (AM2 pin)

    Memory
    2048 MB CORSAIR DDR2-800 PC6400 - LIFETIME WARRANTY! (2x1GB)

    Motherboard
    ASUS® M2N32-SLI DELUXE: DUAL DDR2, S-ATA, 2 x x16 VGA, 3 PCI

    USB Options
    SIX USB 2.0 PORTS (4 REAR + 2 FRONT)

    Hard Drive 1
    SATA II 250 GB HARD DISK @ 7200rpm 8mb cache

    Hard Drive 2
    NONE

    Raid
    NONE

    CD Writer/Combi Drive
    16x +/- DVD WRITER (8x +/- Dual Lyr) (5x DVD-RAM) (40x CD-RW) (£19)

    DVD ROM
    NONE

    CD/DVD Writer
    52X 32X 52X CD WRITER

    Graphics Card 1
    1024MB GEFORCE 7950GX2 (DUAL GPU) PCI Express + DVI + TV-OUT

    Graphics Card 2
    1024MB GEFORCE 7950GX2 (DUAL GPU) PCI Express + DVI + TV-OUT

    Sound
    SoundBlaster X-FI Extreme Music 7.1: £52

    Modem
    NONE, I WILL BE USING BROADBAND

    Network Facilities
    2 x 10/100/1000 GIGABIT LAN PORTS ONBOARD

    Floppy Disk Drive
    1.44MB FLOPPY DISK DRIVE

    Memory Card Reader
    NONE

    Case
    Stylish Silver/Black Sigma case + 2 front USB

    Power Supply Cooling
    500W (Peak) Super Quiet Dual Rail PSU + 120mm fan CPU Cooler (£39)

    OS Required
    MICROSOFT® WINDOWS® XP HOME (inc. Genuine CD licence) (£59)

    Firewire
    2 x FIREWIRE PORTS ONBOARD

    Monitor
    Widescreen 20.1 Inch TFT Sil/Blk 1440 X 900 RES: 8MS (£249)

    Keyboard
    Black Logitech® Internet Keyboard + Hotkeys (£6)

    Mouse
    Black Logitech® Premium Optical Mouse (£5)

    Speakers
    CREATIVE ITRIGUE 2.0 250 SILVER/BLK SPEAKER SYSTEM (£35)

    Printer
    NONE

    Anti Virus
    NORTON ANTI-VIRUS 2006 (£19)

    Oh...how I'm looking forward to no longer wasting time waiting. I am very impatient.
     
  2. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    That will serve you well. ASUS makes good motherboards. I have one that has been running for close to 10 years! (Backup system). You are going to love the speed of the SATA drives too.
    ROFL! Trust me, if you ever use it, it will seem even slower on this machine. I haven't had a floppy in my machine for 3 years.
     
  3. cheddar cheese

    cheddar cheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    20,349
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    WSM, England
    I know nothing about computers but it sounds good, lots of numbers and letters ;) Floppy Disks...ha!
     
  4. plan_D

    plan_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I won't use the Floppy Drive, Eric. It's just there, it just comes free - basically. It better serve me more than just "well" though, it's costin' me two grand ! But I can pay that interest free over the next nine months
     
  5. Erich

    Erich the old Sage
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13,090
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Platonic Sphere
    may I suggest adding another anti-virus to Norton, as it will not cover all the bases. I actually have three at this moment and find the Czech AVG the best overall plus it's free ........
     
  6. the lancaster kicks ass

    the lancaster kicks ass Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    19,980
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    i think someone's boasting ;)
     
  7. k9kiwi

    k9kiwi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Self Employed
    Location:
    Kiwi Land
    I agree with Erich.

    We use AVG including commercial versions on our internet servers.

    Nortons is a bucket of carp. Too many people I know who have had major problems have all been solved by one reccomendation.

    Un-install Nortons, install AVG.
     
  8. plan_D

    plan_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I will update the system, or more precisely my brother will. He goes in there and adds firewalls, ad-aware, anti-virus ... etc. etc. Give him a day and the computer is protected.
     
  9. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,770
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    Unless Windows is pre-installed then you will need to use it. One more things you should of gone with Intel, the new Core2Duo chips destroy the AMD's in tests. For the same price as the FX-62 you could of had

    FX-62 (Overclockers UK Socket AM2) £500
    Conroe (Overclockers UK Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo) Bottom 2 - £350/£650 - both beat the FX-62 in trails but anyway still a nice rig (that would of cost a lot)...
     
  10. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    Depends on the OS. 2000 will boot and load from the CD, so no floppy is needed.
     
  11. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,770
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    True, I just know that when I installed my PC, I needed the floppy drive, not sure what it was for though, pretty sure it was one of the drivers though.
     
  12. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    There are times when a floppy is needed, but I haven't needed one yet for the last few years. Now that I have said that....
     
  13. Henk

    Henk Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Distribution of Magazines and driver
    Location:
    George - South Africa
    Cool I wish I had one of those.
     
  14. Matt308

    Matt308 Glock Perfection
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    20,140
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Washington State
    Floppy Disk Drive
    1.44MB FLOPPY DISK DRIVE


    Good for you PlanD. I know how that feels to be working substandard. You've got better than me now. But a floppy? Do you really use a floppy anymore? Hell, I haven't used a floppy since Windows 95? Maybe 98?

    Congrats.
     
  15. plan_D

    plan_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Better safe than sorry.
     
  16. Maestro

    Maestro Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Beaupré, Province of Québec, Canada
    Congratulations, Plan_D. However I have a question... What the hell will you do with two (identical) 3D video cards ?

    Other than that, it looks like you made a good purchase.

    2 GB of RAM ? Are you doing some kind of 3D animation ?
     
  17. plan_D

    plan_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The graphics cards will be linked, so both cards will generate the power. Meaning I will of 2 GB for graphics.
     
  18. Parmigiano

    Parmigiano Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Campospinoso (PV), Italy
    - Floppy : Ok with PD, 'better safe than sorry' at least in 2 cases : disaster recovery and need to read data from old FD
    - Good the HD @ 7200 rpm
    - 2 gig Ram are ok, but if you'll have some spare bick I would add some more, specially if you play games.
    - Antivirus : i add my 2 cents on the bad experience with Norton. Good hint for the Czech AV, I will give it a try. For the moment I have McAfee installed and can't complain, at least is not invasive and have no virus on PC.
    - AdAware is good stuff, reccomended
    - Be careful with firewalls and protections: it's easy to 'overkill' on protection and impact on performances...

    Good investment choice PD!
     
  19. plan_D

    plan_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    11,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, there's spare for possible future upgrades. And 2 GB is a bit more than okay, since my current computer is still running 512 MB! :lol:
     
  20. Crippen

    Crippen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Life coach?
    Location:
    The home of the Sky blues, Manchester. UK
    Home Page:
    woohoo! swanking are we Plan. nice!

    I prefer Flash pens to floppy discs, much better invention.
    I post a flash pen to my friend full of music and he takes off my music, puts it on his puter or MP3 and then posts it back to me full of new music. well its one way to use um lol.

    My McAfee has just run out for the year, its good though. I prefer the one I down loaded free, seems to work ok.
    But I wondered which protection people generally use? and which we would recommend to others?
    I agree Norton is useless.
     
Loading...

Share This Page