Need some input on an idea

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

ccheese

Member In Perpetuity
Jul 10, 2007
Virginia Beach, Va.
Gentlemen:

For the Seaplane Group Build, GB #22, I am considering a scratch-built, balsa/tissue model of a Grumman F4F-3S "Wildcatfish".
All I have is a set of plans, which I have enlarged so the model wingspan is 17 inches. This would be a close 1:24 scale.

I've never done a scratch-built model before, I'm a kit builder, and an OOB builder at that, so I am asking for some in-put.
I have plenty of sheet balsa, tissue and have ordered a F6F Hellcat canopy from Guillow's. I think I can make it fit.

What say you, lads ??

Charles

Attachments

• F4F-3S_Wildcatfish_NAN12-70.jpg
    F4F-3S_Wildcatfish_NAN12-70.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 195
Definitely! With the plans and materials, the only real difference between this and your previous experience, Charles, is having to transfer the various component shapes onto the balsa, and cut them without them being previously die cut.
It'll take longer, it'll be challenging, but boy, will it be worth it!
And, the immense satisfaction of creating something literally from scratch will be, as they say in that well-known credit card ad, priceless!

Yep, just need to make a copier copy of the ribbing. Put a thinner tissue paper thru the copier and paste them to the sheet balsa. If you could make a little steel cutter for the stringer slots so you could Punch them out, that would cut time down a bit. Just leave the ribs solid, without cutting the centers out as well. Or you could use various size hole punches to cut centers. Even use a small hole punch for the stringer slots then stack them and finish them square with a file edge.

You kan doo eeet!

Just lookin around and found this....
http://www.airplanesandrockets.com/airplanes/grumman-wildcat-may-june-1963-american-modeler.htm

Last edited: