Top Coat Finishing Question

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Vengeance

Airman
Jul 2, 2012
Melbourne
Hi Guys,
Just a quick question, I've got some MR Hobby Topcoat Semi gloss in a spray can, Ive finished the model, applied the decals, cleaned it up and Im about to top coat it using this can, now, will I need to cover the canopy or will this product go onto the canopy nicely.
I don't want to fog up the canopy when I apply the spray.
Should I have applied this spray before unmasking the canopy or before I put the decals on? Is this even a good product to be using?

Sorry for the basic questions, this is my first build for 15 years and the most detail I've attempted!

Any advice welcomed!
Thanks in advance!

Agreed.
The general 'rule' is to leave off all those parts which can safely be fitted once the model is all but finished. Apply a gloss coat for the decals, apply these, seal with another gloss coat, in order to provide an even, overall finish, and then apply the finish clear coat which, for most WW2 models, was either matt or semi-matt.
If it's possible to add clear parts such as canopies before painting, especially if the edges need to be blended into the fuselage to eliminate the joint, and mask them safely, then do so. Otherwise, fit these after the final clear coat.
Some modellers seem to be able to use a spray can without problem, but personally, I feel there isn't sufficient control over the spray pattern and pressure, more so on a smaller or medium-sized model.