White Ensign Models (WEM) Closing

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

stona

Major
Mar 28, 2009
As per the title. White Ensign Models announced on it's website that it will be closing it's doors for the last time on 28th of this month.

I have been using their Colourcoat paints for several years and very good they are too. I'm an old school enamel user and these have sprayed better than any others I've used. Looks like I'll be looking for something else :(

The consequences for naval modellers may be more significant.

It's a bad day for the hobby when a major online supplier goes for whatever reason. They were very upbeat at Telford recently and have just revamped the website which makes the news all the more surprising.

Cheers

Steve

Darn! I was just about to order some of their enamel paints too. I've heard nothing but praise for their paint range, and I'm sick of the still on-going Humbrol saga.
A very sad day indeed, and as you say Steve, especially for Naval / ship modellers.

It's a bit pointless at the moment, but I have been using their paints for several years,absolutely loved them, and would heartily recommend them.

As an old school enamel user I found them to spray better than the others. There were issues with some of their colours, the same can be said of any manufacturer, but I'll be sorry to see them go, if that's what does happen.

Their RAF colours always seemed spot on to me as did almost all their RLM range. The few USAAF colours I used also seemed very good. I can't speak for the others.

Cheers

Steve

Went to the website to see if I could pick up any paints that I might have missing from their various WW2 aircraft lines and everything is Out Of Stock. Just an FYI to save you some time. Anyone know what happened exactly?

Too much money out, not enough in, according to one of the proprietors.