Books Similar to Catch-22

Discussion in 'Fiction' started by Flyboy2, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Flyboy2

    Flyboy2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    So I've been looking for some new stuff to read, recently finishing Foundations by Isaac Asimov and being done with all the Tom Clancy books I've wanted to read.

    Catch-22 is my favorite book ever, and I was wondering if some of the more literary minded individuals on this form could help me find some similar books to this: You know, the absurdist, odd, satirical work... So, anybody got any suggestions
     
  2. diddyriddick

    diddyriddick Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hamlet, NC, US
    Might want to check out Slaughterhouse Five by Vonnegut, though I must caution you it is strongly anti-war in its tone.
     
  3. Tzaw1

    Tzaw1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warszawa
    Home Page:
  4. pbfoot

    pbfoot Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    niagara falls
  5. Butters

    Butters Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    carpenter
    Location:
    South Shore of Nova Scotia
    'That's Me in the Middle', by Donald Jack is the first of a series of hilarious books about a WWI fighter pilot.

    The 'Flashman' series by George MacDonald Fraser, is pretty funny.

    Thomas Berger has written some really good stuff. Best known for 'Little Big Man'.

    Alan Silletoe's 'Adventures in Nihilon' is good.

    In SF, it's hard to beat the twisted humor of Robert Sheckley, esp his 'Mindswap'. Keith Laumer's 'Retief' series is also pretty funny, as are the works of Jack Vance (My favorite SF author).

    Oh yeah, "A Confederacy of Dunces' is a black humor masterpiece. Can't remember the author's name, tho...

    JL

    EDIT: Just noticed that pbfoot has already mentioned Donald Jack's stuff :oops:
     
  6. pbfoot

    pbfoot Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    niagara falls
    Bandy testing parachutes has to rate up there as one of the funniest stories I've ever read
     
  7. Flyboy2

    Flyboy2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Ok thanks, I was actually looking very hard at Slaughterhouse-Five, the anti-war themes don't bother me at all
     
  8. RabidAlien

    RabidAlien Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,592
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Hurst, Texas
    If you like fantasy, Piers Anthony's "Xanth" series is frikkin hilarious, over-the-top puns page after page. My favorite is the recurring incidence where the hero will find a trophy somewhere, of the hindquarters of a cat. Its a nice looking trophy, though, so they'll pick it up, and something inevitably will go wrong. Very soon. Darn cat-ass-trophy! Puns like that. Good stuff!
     
  9. Butters

    Butters Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    carpenter
    Location:
    South Shore of Nova Scotia
    It's been years since I read the Bandy books, but as soon as you mentioned that episode, it all came flooding back... :D

    Vonnegut wrote great stuff in the early part of his career. Breakfast of Champions and Welcome to the Monkey House are classics.

    The mention of Xanth brought to mind Terry Pratchett's Discworld series. I can't believe that I forgot to include those...

    JL
     
  10. muller

    muller Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hibernia
    If you want a laugh out loud funny WWII read, check out Spike Milligans war memoirs, they're priceless!

    There's seven books. Adolf hitler - My Part in His Downfall, Rommel? Gunner Who? - A Confrontation in the Desert, Monty - My Part in His Victory, Mussolini - My Part in His Downfall, Where Have All the Bullets Gone?, Goodbye Soldier Peace Work,
    the last one is about Spike's life after demob and living in post-war London.
     
  11. vikingBerserker

    vikingBerserker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24,064
    Likes Received:
    655
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Korporate Kontrolleur
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I have to admit, I really enjoyed "Hitchhikers Guide", probably not as dark as you would like it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page