Camera Problems

Discussion in 'OFF-Topic / Misc.' started by rochie, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. rochie

    rochie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    14,631
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Head chef
    Location:
    billingham nr middlesbrough uk
    #1 rochie, Sep 6, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2010
    on holiday i took a lot of pictures and at the end of a day i had a look at that days efforts only to find about 30 or so said read error and wouldnt show up.

    now the next day when i tried again all but 6 pictures were there to view but the first 3 pictures i'd taken a few days before now said read error and i couldnt see them when i could before.

    when i got home i found my computer wouldn't find any pictures on my camera if the first picture on my memory card said read error, after deleting this first picture i could download all the pictures upto the next one that said read error and i would have to delete that one and carry on.

    i think i lost about 10 pictures out of about 300 all told and my camera seems to be working fine now, any ideas anyone ?
    i have since reformatted my memory card after i emptied it onto my computer !

    my camera is a Fuji s1000 fd

    thanks

    Karl
     
  2. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    Are you formatting the card every time before you use it, or are you just erasing the images from the card? It's always good practice to remove the images from the card, then re-format the card in the camera before use. Like hard drives, cards can develop bad spots that formatting will identify and mark as bad so it doesn't get written to and possibly ruin your shot, or worse, the whole card's worth.
     
  3. rochie

    rochie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    14,631
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Head chef
    Location:
    billingham nr middlesbrough uk
    i have just been erasing the pictures from the card Eric, so you recomend i format every time i empty it of pictures ?
     
  4. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    Yes, that seems to resolve it for everyone that I have told about that. I format mine every time before I use them and have not had a failure yet.
     
  5. rochie

    rochie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    14,631
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Head chef
    Location:
    billingham nr middlesbrough uk
    good stuff, many thanks Eric
     
  6. evangilder

    evangilder "Shooter"
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer/Photographer
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Home Page:
    No problem, anything to help someone from losing images. That is no fun.
     
  7. Airframes

    Airframes Benevolens Magister

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47,653
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I'm with Eric there Karl. As you know, I have the same camera, although I might have a different card. It certainly sounds like a card problem, not the camera itself. Normally, I just download straight to the computer from the camera, and then, after checking the download was successful, erase from the camera. I don't normally format each time, unless I've removed the card for some reason, but I do re-format now and then, just to ensure all is working OK
    Also, always ensure the security 'tab' on the card is in the correct position, and fully in place, as this can cause read errors, and lost images otherwise.
     
  8. Gnomey

    Gnomey World Travelling Doctor
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    41,740
    Likes Received:
    517
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Royal Deeside, UK
    Home Page:
    I'm with Eric on this too Karl, certainly sounds like a small card failure. I personally haven't done the format of my cards after I've used them and haven't had a failure yet but it is certainly something I'll be thinking of doing from now on.
     
  9. pbfoot

    pbfoot Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,636
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    niagara falls
    I'd like to state always reformat by not doing this I lost close to 300 pics of my favourite airshow , I went to the point where tried local data recovery businesses here with no luck
     
  10. BikerBabe

    BikerBabe Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,291
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Yes, got one.
    Location:
    Denmark.
    Home Page:
    Same here, I reformat the camera card every single time after I've copied my photos onto the comp.
    I lost one out of two cards once, both were stuffed with pics from the last ever airshow at Værløse near Copenhagen, with plenty of Spitfire-pics, among others. That sucked big time, so I'm definitely on the reformat team here.
     
  11. vikingBerserker

    vikingBerserker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24,064
    Likes Received:
    655
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Korporate Kontrolleur
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Wow, I wish I had read this thread a couple of weeks ago, I had the exact same thing happened to me and lost a lot of pics.

    Thanks for the education!
     
Loading...

Share This Page