radio operators unite!

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

flakhappy

Airman
Feb 2, 2008
Lincoln, NE
Although I've used the forumns for a while this is my check-in, I guess. Not sure how I should go about it.
I'm a veteran of a B-17 bomb group (97th) of WWII. As a former radio operator I'd like to know if there are other ex-radio operators out there in this little universe who would like, as the saying goes, to tell old lies amid new realities.

Welcome aboard flak happy!!!! May I ask what ship you flew in.

We weren't assigned to a specific plane, but mostlly flew in a G-model that we named "Magnetic Maggie" because of its proclivity of attracting flak. Her serial was 071, so that's what we called her. Her ground crew chief told me a few years ago that she was still sitting on the field in the summer of 1945. A survivor of all but the wrecking crews.

We weren't assigned to a specific plane, but mostlly flew in a G-model that we named "Magnetic Maggie" because of its proclivity of attracting flak. Her serial was 071, so that's what we called her. Her ground crew chief told me a few years ago that she was still sitting on the field in the summer of 1945. A survivor of all but the wrecking crews.

Many thanks on answering the question. I guess I always thought a crew stayed together unless some one got hurt or otherwise. I had a school teacher years ago that flew in B-17's as a radio man. Sadly at the time I never asked him more questions. He taught at DeVry and his last name was McCarthy.

If you dont mind talking about it I was wondering what the rotation was for B-17's. Did you fly so many missions and then take a break or did you fly all the time till you hit your total. Please do not answer if this makes you uncomfortable as I am a Gulf war veteran and have a Uncle that did three tours in Vietnam and understand.

Paul