**** DONE: 1/48 Bf 109F-2 - Winter War / Eastern Front WWII

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

fubar57

General
Nov 22, 2009
The Jungles of Canada
User Name: fubar57
Name: George
Category: Advanced
Kit: ICM
Accessories: Eagle Strike decals, wire stuff.

002.JPG

This model represents the aircraft "Yellow 6" Jg.54, winter, 1941

Geo

Last edited by a moderator:
I've never built an ICM kit before, so if anyone can tell me what to expect and be aware of, it would be greatly appreciated.The inside of the box...

006.JPG
007.JPG
008.JPG
005.JPG

...as can be seen in the final photo, not much to show in the cockpit so this will be my first attempt at greatly improving it. The profile from the Eagle Strike decals...

004.JPG

This will be my reference source for the innards

Untitled.jpg

The machine...

jg54.JPG

Geo

EDIT: I didn't like the looks of the instrument panel so I just ordered this from Airscale...

Capture.JPG

Last edited:
Very cool choice Geo. That winter camo is well worn on this aircraft. Yellow nose may have faint traces of the white left. Main gear legs have the covers left off. My reference (Jagdwaffe Vol 3) says the underlying camo was a modified 70/71 over 76 but I'm not sure what that means specifically.

The ICM kit is nice but it has its faults. I used one to build the Steinhoff 109 for GB 13 and you can have a look there to see what to watch out for.

Thanks Andy. Will have to sort out the paint scheme in the future, Eagle Strike says 74/75/76. Monogram Painting Guide....gives the dates of said color scheme as June 24,'41 for the change over and Aug. 15,'41 as the date Messerschmitt put out it's paint chart. The same book also says the change over for the cockpit colors, from RLM02 to RLM66 was Nov. '41. I don't have the W.Nr. for it so not sure when it was made. Off to have a look at your build.

Geo