Suggested change to the place awards (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

parsifal

Colonel
Apr 6, 2008
Orange NSW
im a pretty regular contributor to the group builds. But im still pretty new to the hobby and Ive got a lot of skills to learn. For that reason I make my entries at the beginner level. I dont think there is anything innappropriate with that, but often Im the only entry at that skill level. To be honest, some of my entries are good, and some not so good. Doenst worry me, im here becuse i love aircraft and I enjoy the art that goes with making the models. but lets face it, not all my finished models are awards material, but if there are less than three entries, it dismays me that i will receive a placing regardless.

What i propose is that if there are less than three entries in a given division, no place award be given. Instead, if an entry is judged as better than than that particular members last submission, from the imedialtely preceding GB, then he is eligible for an "ahievement award, maybe a star or something on the emblem. Sort of judging that member against his last GB.

What are peoples opinions?

I agree about what you say because there aren't really too many beginners who enter the GBs and I think your judging system would work quite well except for the judged against last GB entry mainly because I find it to be kinda unnecessary, but that's just me. Also you are once again the only beginner in the build (other than me, but my camera has seriously failed me so I opted out until I can get another MicroSD) and even when I join in again it'll only be two Beginners which kinda stinks but oh, what can you do?

Sounds like a reasonable suggestion Michael. I've actually thought for some time that some sort of 'Achievement Award' may have a place in the GBs, perhaps to recognise notable improvement in the skills and / or finished product of individuals.