TBF-1 Avenger (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Jayl

Senior Airman
May 29, 2009
So this is my first attempt at a 1/48 scale kit. It's the George Bush Accurate Miniatures TBF-1 Avenger. I got the Eduard "Big Ed" set for it, which includes the interior, exterior, wing flap PE and the masking set. I also have a Montex paint mask set which includes two different markings. I haven't decided what scheme to go with yet. I have a lot more of the little pe parts built than this but they don't have any primer on them yet. I also have the front cowling almost done and one side of the wings. I'll post more pics later, I thought I'd post what I have so far to help keep me motivated.

I know the pics kinda suck. I just got a digital slr and I still need to figure out how to change the field of depth so that everything is in focus.

Last edited:
Excellent work on the photo etch Jayl. All those little pieces can be very tricky. The cockpit, seat and engine are excellent too. I especially like the great job you have done with the engine wiring. Looks like this build is going to result in a top notch Avenger.

Cheers

Peter

Stunning work Jayl. Nice and neat and the engine wiring is superb.

Re the camera: First off, looks like you could do with a bit more lighting in the area. Next, to get more depth of field, you'll need to go with as small a shutter opening as you can. If you go to a shutter preferred setting and let the camera chose the speed, chose something like F28 or 32 but this will probably take a one or 2 second exposure, too long if you hold the camera by hand. It helps to use a tripod or, if you don't have one, prop the camera on a sold surface and use a timer.

Nice thing about digital is you can experiment without worrying about wasting film. Good luck!