Bf109 raised off northern Norway (1 Viewer)

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Colin1

Senior Master Sergeant
Jan 2, 2009
United Kingdom
Is this the one that hit the seafloor and perched there on its nose for 60-odd years?

Attachments

• Bf109.jpg
    Bf109.jpg
    177.7 KB · Views: 240
I am an aviation artist. I am starting a project from a story that comes from a B-17 tail gunner. He is credited with shooting down two aircraft on one mission. The first was a FW 190, the second a BF109. He says that the 109 had a red and yellow checkerboard pattern from the nose to the canopy. I thought perhaps this was a personal paint job since I have never seen this before. I am a stickler for accuracy in my artwork, and this one's really bothering me because I don't want to get it wrong. Has anyone ever come across aBF109 with a paint job that matches that description and if so, can you guide me to a picture or very good description of it. The tail gunner didn't remember very many details, only what I have included here.

Thank you

...the 109 had a red and yellow checkerboard pattern from the nose to the canopy. I thought perhaps this was a personal paint job since I have never seen this before. I am a stickler for accuracy in my artwork, and this one's really bothering me because I don't want to get it wrong. Has anyone ever come across aBF109 with a paint job that matches that description and if so, can you guide me to a picture or very good description of it.
Will have a look once I get home