**** DONE: GB-51 1:48 Lockheed S-3B Viking - No Propellers

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

fubar57

General
Nov 22, 2009
The Jungles of Canada
Username: fubar57
First name: George
Category: Advanced
Manufacturer: Italeri
Model: S-3B Viking Kit No. 2623
Scale: 1:48

This is hopefully a mojo rebuilder. A reboxing of the original Esci/AMT offering from the 80's and offered by Italeri in 2010. My subject

Untitled.jpg

Screenshot 2021-08-14 142619.jpg

1629085918398.png

Got a start on some plastic finally. After reading some reviews, it turns out that one can build the entire aircraft and then insert the cockpit at the end. Once I've finished cleaning up the fuselage, I'll test drive the cockpit and see if its true. Wings, horizontal stabs, some of the innards and the replacement canopy.

IMG_0003.JPG

Close-up of the seats and canopy, which I started painting years ago. The interior above the consoles and canopy were painted black. The console and instrument panel detail are decals but I'm not too worried about the lack of details as the canopy is so dark

IMG_0004.JPG

IMG_0005.JPG

There is a small amount of flash on many of the parts but to be expected for 40+ year old molds

IMG_0002.JPG

Plus some whacking great attachment points; this is the nose section of the fuselage

IMG_0001.JPG

This is quite a large model so photos will be a challenge once things start coming together. Looking at the photos that Don and Wojtek so kindly provided shows that I will have to remove a few of the molded on antennae and relocate a couple, notably the one on top of the fin, the large one on top of the fuselage and two on the bottom of the fuselage. Some interior colour thoughts shortly

Same boat. I have one old US-3A and an S-3B I think. I picked up a wing fold and tail fould set from Wolfpack and a few detail sets from Black Dog. Love it. Nice picture.