Hey :) New Brit

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Alex .

Airman 1st Class
Hey there guys!

I'm Alex, and I'm relieved to finally be able to post in here following my first account being banned within an hour or two for spammer so and so, I hadn't posted yet? But never mind, I've made it now :)

I'm a third year student of Medieval History, studying in North Wales. I've been into the history of aviation throughout my life, I come from a military family and have been pretty much brainwashed by years of documentaries, and numerous repeats of Battle of Britain and 633 Squadron on a regular basis :lol: I've been involved with the ATC for 6 and a half years, and I'm hoping to follow this on with a commission once I've finished my studies.

I am particularly interested in the history of 148 Squadron Royal Air Force during World War II, and if any members have any information and further reading regarding the squadron I would be very interested from hearing from you. My uncle, Geoff Hill served with them across North Africa and Italy, unfortunately he passed away a few months back - however, he was a ridiculous hoarder, and kept extensive records of the squadron activities and had many pictures of his time in blue...or tan, which I look forward to sharing with you :p He went on to dedicate the rest of his life as a guide at the RAF Museum Cosford, where he was involved with the conservation of the B-24 KN751, now on display at the RAF Museum Hendon.

I have to admit I am nowhere as knowledgeable as you guys, so will be more than likely a watcher - I'd rather not embarrass myself 8)

Regards,

Alex

Welcome

Sorry about the accidental spam banning. We have been having a big problem with spambots lately. Your login name might have tripped something.

Either way, welcome to our dysfunctional family.

Don't be a watcher, jump right in. We all can learn from each other.