My most moving moment ever.

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

tankie1rtr

Airman
Oct 11, 2008
York. United kingdom
I would like to share the most moving moment in my life with you guys, Yes like others on here I have lost close friends on active service and that is hard but "My most moving moment" is as follows, I am now 54yrs old, and I am an ex British Tankie, I was also Regimental Bugler (Trumpeter) a few years ago I was a Continental Coach Driver and I took my Silver Bugle all over with me, I would stop at the little War Cemetaries in France and I would play the last post (Taps) as a mark of respect, on one tour I was taking a group of mixed British and American ex Servicemen on a tour to Normandy, I will never forget this tour, we went to the Big American Cemetary at Pointe Du Hoc, and there stood 9,387 crosses of guys who had sacrificed their today for our tomorrow, and in a garden was a memorial to 1,577 missing in the invasion. Inside the main gates there is a large statue holding out a Laurel Leaf as a gesture of Peace, I asked the keeper of the Cemetary If I could have the privelage of playing taps by the statue as a mark of respect, he said he would be delighted to hear it, all the ex servicemen stood in a large semi circle around myself and the statue and I started playing, time seemed to stand still, the wind seemed to drop, and all people stopped what they were doing and stood stock still and the notes carried gently to fade away over the white crosses, I played as gently and meaningful as I could with tears streaming down my cheeks, and the gentle sobbing of grown men behind me. Late when we were walking towards the white crosses, an old lady dressed in black asked me If I was an American Soldier, I told her I wasn't, I was an ex British soldier who was not born untill 8 years after the war, she went on to tell me that she was visiting the grave of her Fiancee, he was a fighte