P51-D "Snifter"

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Greedy

Airman 1st Class
Mar 7, 2009
narangba
Hey guys as most of you all ready know i have started work on a Dragon 1/32 scale mustang nicked named the snifter. Over the next couple of mounths ill be posting the build up here. Being a GA classed pilot i have had the pleasure of flying this nice war bird as i use to be a admin for the museum wich stores the mustang in QLD. I have allready finnished most of the motor and detailed it. (seen in the pic below)

But im not pleased with the result its missing something to make it stand out. So i decided to take photos of the real thing inside and out!. I wish to make this model look as real as posible but still maintaining that used ww2 look ( I have a keen eye for detail). So i decided to add all the wires and frame work. If anyone has blue prints of the motor bay can you please send them on to me :).

Attachments

• Img_0132.jpg
    Img_0132.jpg
    43.5 KB · Views: 145
These photos are of the rebuild. Wich i will use to help me throught the build of the kit.

Attachments

• ME_2A68_110.jpg
    ME_2A68_110.jpg
    49.9 KB · Views: 152
  • ME_2A68_110a.jpg
    ME_2A68_110a.jpg
    53.8 KB · Views: 187
  • ME_2A68_110b.jpg
    ME_2A68_110b.jpg
    50.8 KB · Views: 142
  • GH_2A68_769.jpg
    GH_2A68_769.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 153
  • work%20008.JPG
    work%20008.JPG
    71.6 KB · Views: 155
LoL i did it again can a mod resize my photos i cant change them in edit. i did crop 800 by 600 and they are still to big.:(

So apart from the standed plastic parts i have added raditor hoses and fuel injection hoses to give the motor a bit more realisim but i wish to put more cables in. ill come back to the motor later on. Ill move on to the next step wich is the gauges.

Attachments

• IMG_0150.JPG
    IMG_0150.JPG
    42 KB · Views: 125