Trumpeter FW190 D-9 Red 1

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Hello Everyone

I hope you guys are all having a nice weekend. I've just begun a new project. I'm using the 1/24 scale Trumpeter FW190 D-9 as the base for my new Dora. I'm going to model it after Oblt. Hans Dortenmann's Red 1 from 12./JG54. The work number is 210003. I believe its one of the earliest D-9's to make it all the way till May 1945. It has a very interesting color pattern and a very interesting history. I'm using Jerry Crandall's incredible books to detail the plane as best I can. My hope is to not go completely bonkers with the Super Detailing, as I will never finish the project. I'm a Restoration Technician for a Museum here in Birmingham, so my passion will lie in the mechanicales. My focus right now is with the Jumo 213A. Its a very interesting engine. I've done some internet searches for pictures and any technical information that I can find. I don't think I'm going to try and recreate every detail of the engine, but try and change the major bits to something that looks more like the original. Any ideas or help that you guys can offer would be awesome. The supplied engine is pretty good I would say, but could use some correcting as well as some new details added. The right side of the engine looks great with the supercharger detail. I also really like the exhaust manifolds, even thought they may not be exactly the correct shape. My plan right now is to add and correct some of the coolant lines, which as you can see in the following pictures. The supplied coolant pipes that come in the kit are completely wrong, going this way and that. I have no idea what the designers were thinking when the drew up these parts! So I'll leave those out and add some new details. I'm really looking forward to enjoying this new kit! If you guys have Jerry Crandall's book, which is Volume One, you can see the Dora starting on page 20. I w