Ploesti--The Movie: Help Needed

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

billbradle

Recruit
Dec 13, 2010
Dear Warbird members,

My name is Bill Bradle, and I am a published history writer (Goliad: The Other Alamo).

I am trying to get a film put together that tells the story of the heroism and valor of the B24 crews that bombed Ploesti in August, 1943. The title is Tidal Wave: The Ploesti Raid.

We are all aware of the details of the raid but the world is not; the action is largely forgotten. And action there is from the Dambusters to the crew landing on the estate of the Romanian princess and everything in between.

In writing the script I tried to combine the action of Saving Private Ryan, the planning and teamwork of The Dirty Dozen, and the pathos of Gallipoli. The script follows three planes and their crews—Kane, Baker and Lt. Longnecker.

Innovative director Robert Child is attached to direct. Go to http://www.robchild.net/ to see his work, including Wereth 11 and USS Franklin---Honor Restored. Rob is a dedicated, pragmatic director who can get it done. Take a look at the Wereth 11 and you will see how he uses computer graphics and single props to make quality material at low budget prices.

With the current Hollywood mindset getting a picture made that is long on heroism and courage is itself a very long shot. Rob was able to get the script in to Dale Dye, actor, director, and Stephen Spielberg's military advisor and we are waiting to hear.

In the meantime, we are exploring all other options and I thought I would throw it out to the group to gather suggestions/resources/financing sources/studio entries. Any and all comments will be appreciated.