Building a B-17 Simulator

Ad: This forum contains affiliate links to products on Amazon and eBay. More information in Terms and rules

Geewiz

Recruit
Mar 31, 2008
Greetings all....newbie here:

I am at the start of a project to put together a portable B-17 flight simulator. This simulator will be used at a reunion of the 401st bomb group, attended by the (remaining) veterans of the B-17 base at Deenethorpe during WWII.

I'm looking for suggestions and ideas relating to creating as realistic an experience as possible using off the shelf hardware and software.

The core simulator will be based around a suitably powerful PC and graphics card, using XP SP2 Pro, MS FLightSIM 2004, and one (or more) of the available B-17 add-on packages.

I'll want a yoke/throttle system and, possibly, rudder controls. My initial idea will be to construct a cockpit-like enclosure using PVC pipe shrouded in black fabric. The interior will seat 4 people (on folding chairs) in 2X2 configuration. My idea is to mount an LCD projector to display to the front of the cockpit, using a small table on which to mount the control yoke and throttle.

Using a dual display graphics card, I'd like to have a monitor showing a chase plane view.

I'd really appreciate any suggestions about this project, and any ideas that I could employ to make this a fun and reminiscent experience for these veteran fliers of the B-17.

My apologies if I haven't posted this in the right forum, but I will appreciate any help and benefit of experience that others might have.

Thanks!
Joe